It's hard to see- but there it is.
What Is The Ruling?
By Kickntrue on 4/3/08
Kevin and I played a round of golf yesterday and something crazy happened. Kevin hit a ball into a pine tree that never came down. It was stuck in the branches about 6 feet off the ground in plain site. I made Kevin whack it out, but don't know if that was correct. Can someone help?


[ comments ]
H2Okie says:
It can be considered an unplayable lie. This means you can take a whack at it if the player wishes. One stroke penalty according to Rule 28 of the Rules of Golf.

Three provision for playing: at point of previous shot, within two club lengths of where it lays, or in the line of flight from where it was last played.
4/3/08
 
klangdon says:
I think the USGA needs to add a new rule, "un-reakin-believable lie". If a golfer manages to have a ball remain in a tree, kill wild life, hit another ball in the air, anything crazy freaky, they get to pick their ball up and score a birdie on the hole.
4/3/08
 
Snyper says:
it's definitely a tough break when this happens. happened to me on 16th hole of a tourny that i was winning one time. needless to say, i didn't win. i tried to hit it and that proved to be a bad decision. i'm pretty sure there is footage of a pga guy climbing a tree to hit his ball. can't remember who it was though.
4/4/08
 
chipotle mg says:
i can't tell if you are joking about not remembering but it's nick faldo and i think he was at pebble beach.

query.nytimes.com/gst/fullpage.html?res=9E0CE3DB
4/4/08
 
klangdon says:
That article says he shook the tree to get the ball loose. That might be the better question as to ruling. There is no question if I had shaken the tree in the above situation my ball would have come down. Is that legal?
4/4/08
 
Snyper says:
absolutely not legal. you have to be careful not to break the rules when you move tree limbs when you are taking a stance to hit a shot, much less altering your lie by moving a tree.
4/4/08
 
mhauth says:
Either you play it as it lies (in the tree) or you could shake it down and then you would have to declare an unplayable. I remember playing in a Oregon Junior Golf Association event at a course and same thing happend. I was lucky enough to put a swing on the ball. Kinda weird taking a baseball swing with a golf club.
4/4/08
 
chipotle mg says:
yeah faldo was just shaking the tree so he could identify his ball. with identification he could take an unplayable lie and get to drop within 2 clubs lenghts of where the ball landed after shaking instead of having to hit from original spot where he hit from to put it in the tree in the first place. boils down to saving distance for all the effort of shaking and identifying.
4/4/08
 
chipotle mg says:
if i was in your situation i would have swung at the ball to avoid any penalty. seems like it was very likely you'd get it out and maybe even advance it a few yards into the fairway. if you miss it or fail to dislodge it then that would be a stroke and you'd be in the same situation. that's the gamble you'd take.
4/4/08
 
chipotle mg says:
what club did you take? just wondering lol
4/4/08
 
klangdon says:
I still had 150 to the hole and was just on the edge of the fairway. So I took a good whack at it. I think with a 5 iron. It was about shoulder high. I didn't make contact with the ball, too many pine needles and branches everywhere. It went maybe 3 feet into rough...
4/5/08
 
falcon50driver says:
I guess this wouldn't be a good time to bring up the errant range ball that knocked my beautiful drive out into the lagoon on # 10 at the Cancun Hilton. I just hit another drive...so sue me..
4/5/08
 
[ post comment ]
 
    New Products
    Stats
    Caption This
    World Am
    How Bizarre!
Most Popular:

Subscribe