Wie Disqualified- Golf Rules Are Stupid
By Kickntrue on 7/19/08
As much as I've had fun at Michelle Wie's expense before on this site- her disqualification this weekend is just plain stupid. On Friday, Wie finished her round and forgot to sign her scorecard immediately after the round. She walked outside a roped off area and someone informed her of her mistake- so she walked 20 feet back from where she was and signed it.

The rules officials didn't find any of this out until someone informed them today after Michelle had already started playing. They let her finish her 3rd round- which she finished in second place one shot off the lead. She was then informed that her blunder from Friday would cost her.

So Michelle takes 20 steps away- and then signs it. The rules officials MISS it. And then when they do find out she's screwed. Sometimes the rules of golf just don't make sense to me. This is absolutely stupid. The fact that they didn't catch the mistake should have given her a pass in the first place. Isn't that THEM blowing the call if anything? It's not like she realized she forgot and signed the scorecard this morning. This was just moments after her round yesterday. Plus- if this is such an unforgivable offense- why let her finish her round?

Stupid Stupid Stupid. I know Wie was upset- she was clearly crying after this. They said she took the news like a little kid who just found out there was no Santa Claus.

Wie was playing her best golf in years. I hope she comes back and wins her next event. And then- I hope she takes the check- and just burns it- while laughing in the faces of all of the LPGA officials who don't make in one year what she does per day off her endorsements.

Full Story


[ comments ]
golfpro926 says:
I agree that it is stupid, but those of us who are or who have played tournament golf know that you MUST sign your scorecard in the designated scoring area for your round to count. Unfortunately, golf is a game of inches and in this case it is a game of 20 feet. Whether it is one foot or twenty, once you leave the scoring area everything is final. I hope Michelle learns from this mistake and turns it around to fuel her next tournament. It is a shame that she was one shot off the lead at the end of the day. I look for great things to come from Wie!
7/19/08
 
ranch100 says:
Antiquated rule -- bad for the LPGA and bad for golf. And what a tacky comment by the rules chairwoman, "like a little kid who just found out there was no Santa Claus."
7/19/08
 
ToddRobb says:
Rules are rules. You step on the line, or 20 feet past it, your out of bounds in any sport. I think everyone would agree that the rules of golf should be updated, but everyone knows the rules so that makes them fair.
7/19/08
 
jerdman says:
The rules make the game fair, but in this case she was not in any violation of fairness. Thats bogus. Honest mistake, no harm, no cheating, her round was in the books as far as everyone else was concerned and she still signed.
7/19/08
 
ToddRobb says:
The rules don't make the game fair, they make the RULES fair, being that everyone knows them. Quite frankly if she can't remember to sign her scorecard, she doesn't deserve to win. It's one of the few things that you can get disqualified for, and she forgets to do it. Definitely an honest mistake, but there's no room for mistakes in championship golf. Remember when she took a drop in the wrong spot and got disqualified, that was another honest mistake. Remember when one of her playing partners accused her of walking in her line several times, another honest mistake. When are the honest mistakes going to stop?
7/20/08
 
Josh says:
What's the exact wording of the rule? I agree if she really broke a rule fine, but does the rule actually say you can't go more than 10 feet from your scorecard after the round without signing it? I mean come-on.
7/20/08
 
drew1473 says:
The rule is that at tournaments you must sign your scorecard in the designated scoring area. Whether it be marked off by lines or by ropes. Hers was not marked off by either, hers was a tent, so when she left the tent she had left the scoring area without signing her scorecard, therefore DQ'd.
I don't think it is stupid at all. She has played in how many tournaments now. She thought she was good enough to skip the women's tour and go straight to the men's, and we see how that turned out. She needs to get her head on straight.

ToddRobb, I am not trying to be an ass or anything, but with how you are describing honest mistakes, it makes me wonder. What is a dishonest mistake? I believe that walking on someone's line once is understandable, multiple times is just being an @$$.
7/20/08
 
ToddRobb says:
Drew, I agree with you 100%. I was making reference to the words she used, "honest mistake" after all three incidents. I think she is a product of mis-management.
She is clearly not ready to play with the big dogs, male or female. Everyone jumped on the band wagon because of her swing, but at the end of the day, there's a whole lot more to championship golf than a great golf swing.
7/20/08
 
ToddRobb says:
When I said "She is clearly not ready to play with the big dogs, male or female", the big dogs are the elite on either tour. The tournament she got DQ'd from only had 2 of the top 10 on the LPGA in the field. She is pretty much an average player with a well above average swing. Until she gets some help with how to be a "professional golfer", she will remain an average player on the LPGA.
7/20/08
 
Josh says:
Don't I recall everyone having a fit about how Tiger acted toward some camera man a while back? (note I defended him in that thread) does that mean he needs to go play in the little league for a while too since he doesn't know how to be a "professional golfer"?
7/20/08
 
ToddRobb says:
In my opinion she needs help with what it takes to compete on the level that she's at. She has withdrawn from 3 or 4 tournaments "due to illness or injury" which basically mean, "I'm playing like @$%& so let me think of an excuse to leave early". Walking in another players line more than once is inexcusable, not knowing the rules of the game is also inexcusable.

As you know, I vehemently stuck up for Tiger on that thread. Dealing with a photographer should not even be an issue that he has to deal with. Michelle at the very least, should be able to follow the rules and etiquette of the game.
7/20/08
 
drew1473 says:
I agree with you ToddRobb. If you are blessed to have the talent and ability to play on the PGA or LPGA tour, then knowing the rules of the game that you play are a must. She is just an average player with an above average swing and a head full of $hit.

Michelle Wie has been managed horribly by her father. In my opinion, for what its worth, she should have stuck with amateur golf and even played some golf in college before trying to jump to the professional ranks. And she should have definitely stuck with LPGA and tried to perform well on it, before even thinking about the PGA.

Everybody has mental breakdowns, i.e. Tiger with the photographer. But with Michelle it is one excuse after another after another... and so on.
7/20/08
 
Josh says:
My thought is that we should examine the spirit of the rule, my guess is that it was defined to prevent a player from leaving the scoring area, reviewing something on video and then protesting the score. In that case I would say if she left you are no longer allowed to protest but as long as you don't you should be fine. I dunno, this just seems like a lot of hubabaloo over nothing to me. The USGA & PGA needs to perhaps review their rules annually for antiquated policy.

And where there are rules that certainly warrant immediate disqualification is this really one of them? If that's the case then perhaps we should stop giving tickets for speeding and start handing out the death penalty for those who can't drive 55 (yikes, that includes me!?)

Todd and Drew if I ever see you guys while speeding I'm getting away as soon as possible! Clearly you guys are sticklers ;)
7/20/08
 
ToddRobb says:
Josh, The rules of golf have been set for over 100 years, I'm quite certain they weren't worried about "video" when they wrote the rules of tournament golf. If the rule is so trivial, why couldn't she remember to abide by it? When was the last time it happened to anyone?? Players walk from the 18th green to the scoring area for the sole purpose of checking their score and signing their scorecard. That's it.
How can you blame her stupidity on the rule?
7/20/08
 
mclovin says:
So what penalties do the officials take for themselves for missing this rule violation? And very tacky on the chairwoman's part, I agree.
7/20/08
 
mclovin says:
Makes me glad I don't watch women's golf, lol.
7/20/08
 
brichar says:
I think there's a lot of jealousy going around. If it were you in that place you would be arguing for the other side. The fact that an official did not bust her on the spot voids anything.

Look at EVERY other professional sport. If an official screws up and misses a call it is not the persons fault.

Get off your high horses.
7/20/08
 
chipotle mg says:
EVERY other sport???? don't you know golf prides itself as not having an official? the player is the one that is supposed to give themselves the penalty. it's based on the honor system and the "officials" are only there to help.
7/20/08
 
Eric Duquene says:
Whether an official "busts" you or not is not the point. If the infraction occurred, then you should be penalized. As chipotle said, they are supposed to police themselves on penalties and so forth. Once she realized she committed the infraction she should have penalized herself and then if other people thought it was ridiculous let them fight for her.
7/21/08
 
ToddRobb says:
brichar, "The fact that an official did not bust her on the spot voids anything." WOW. Do you even understand that that she was actually suppose to disqualify herself once she realized what she had done? Remind me to never play you for money, I can only imagine what you're doing when no one is watching.
7/21/08
 
beisenhauer says:
+1 for chipotle. The player is his/her own referee. There are rules officials on the course (and in the scoring truck), but they don't have whistles. The player is ultimately responsible for the accuracy of the score that is posted by their name. Signing the scorecard is the formal method of accepting that responsibility. Wie didn't, and the established penalty for that failure is disqualification. Harsh? Maybe, but commensurate with the importance placed on that responsibility by golf's rules-making bodies.

Anyway, I'm guessing it will be a very long time before Michelle Wie forgets to sign her scorecard again.
7/21/08
 
pmhk says:
the quote about santa claus was misinterpreted. in the article, the chairwoman says that she felt badly, like telling someone that there was no santa claus; not that wie took it like she found out that there was no sc.

wie's life has turned into such a tragic comedy that it's beginning to change my opinion of her. in the past i would cringe when watching her interviews, "you know," but i think that now she has been beaten down so much that it has to be the beginning of maturity for her. i hope she can win soon for her own sake, because if something else like this happens in the meantime she will melt into a permanent emotional puddle.
7/21/08
 
PapaJoe says:
Without a doubt, Michelle broke the rules without meaning to. In golf, whether it be the LPGA or the PGA Tour, you are subject to some very stringent guidelines! After wandering 20 feet away from the scoring tent it dawned on Michelle that she screwed up! Why didn't anyone in the scoring tent, sitting there watching the players come in and go out, inform Michelle that she made a boo-boo BEFORE she left the tent? Boo! Bad! on you supposed scoring officials!!! It wasn't like there were was a hullabaloo of action with 20 or 30 people waiting in line to sign their score cards!

Forget those a-holes, Michelle! You're too good to have to put up with those idiots. Play good golf, win, and show EVERYONE what you're really made of. Walk proudly and hold your head high from here on out, especially when you enter the scoring tent, or hut, and sign your next WINNING CARD whether it be on the women's or men's tour.
7/26/08
 
PapaJoe says:
After contacting oobGolf's webmasters and managers hopefully I/we have solved the problem of the "Idiot" PapaJoe posing as the "Real" PapaJoe. Thank you guys. Hopefully you have identified the moron making the senseless and idiotic remarks under my name, The Real "PapaJoe". What a shame that people like that exists and try to spoil what is a good web site for other people! Even if I may have raised the "ire" of someone on this web site, there should be no cause for that person to screw it up for everyone else! I will be posting this message on several article forums, "Fore Play", "Cigar Lounge," and on every other public forum that exists on oobGolf to hopefully prevent idiots such as they are to screw up the works for the rest of us. I write this as the "Real PapaJoe" and give you my personal e-mail of: papajoehermit@juno.com for anyone to check out the legitimacy of my honesty. Thank you. JGoff, Louisville, KY.
8/6/08
 
[ post comment ]
 
    New Products
    Stats
    Caption This
    World Am
    How Bizarre!
Most Popular:

Subscribe