Kim Disqualified By Stupid Rule
By Kickntrue on 11/10/08
We've rallied against stupid golf rules on oob before- but this one may be the best yet. Anthony Kim, playing in his first European Tour event, the HSBC Champions event in Shanghai, hit his driver club face on a sprinkler head while carrying his club on the 7th hole yesterday. He continued to use the club for the next two holes- hitting bad drives way right. He told officials that he thought his club was damaged, therefore damning himself under the rules of golf- disqualifying himself for playing with damaged equipment from the result of something other than normal play.

If he would've broken the club on a swing it would've been fine, but since he nicked it on a sprinkler head it was illegal.

This is really golf at it's greatest. The European Tour (playing in Asia) gets its first look at the USA's best up and coming player and he doesn't get to finish. Clearly there is no competitive advantage to playing with broken equipment. If anything, Kim's drives on the next two holes proved that. Someone please give me a rationale explanation for this rule before I scream.

Full Story


[ comments ]
jerdman says:
Well..... they could have um........ maybe it was ......... nope that was just plain stupid.
11/10/08
 
mrtimb says:
Yeah, that rule ranks up there as one of the most idiotic. I can't think of a way that someone could intentionally damage their equipment and gain an advantage in doing so, unless they break out a file and change their grooves on the fly or some such garbage. Toss the rule.
11/10/08
 
SilkySmoothFlatStick says:
Have you ever thought that maybe.....just maybe....AK was knowledgable of the rule and used it to his advantage to get his self DQ'd? He admitted that he hasn't played much golf in three weeks and had been recently injured. He was 8 over......he needed to get his self DQ'd.

The rule is a good rule and is there to keep others from modifying a club to an advantage. In this case it was clearly a disadvantage for Kim.......but I don't think the damaged driver was the primary reason for his game being way off.

I think he knew what he was doing when he found a rules official to DQ him. Is called saving face in front of the galleries and the world when your game has gone south.
11/10/08
 
Kickntrue says:
Brad- didn't see it from that angle. Still- can you come up with an example of where a player could use it to their advantage?
11/10/08
 
billyboy57 says:
Kick - Brad just gave us an example, that, in his opinion, AK used the rule to save face and get himself DQ'ed. I don't agree with Brad's opinion, but I do agree that the rule is a good one, i.e. to keep players from cheating, though I think they went overboard in Kim's situation. A driver being damaged while being transported to another hole is a far cry from a player purposefully altering his equipment to attempt to gain an edge.
11/10/08
 
kidputter says:
Players on the PGA Tour don't need to alter their clubs mid-round. They have teams of engineers, clubmakers, etc. to do that for them prior to getting to the tourney. The rule is idiotic. The penalty is more idiotic. The fact that people thought he damaged it on purpose is most idiotic. He could have bowed out citing injury rather than being DQ'd. A DQ is far worse because it shows his lack of knowledge of the rules of the game. STUPID AMERICAN. Not the image he wants to portray on the world scene.
11/10/08
 
falcon50driver says:
I'd be curious to know how much damage is considered disqualifying. I damaged my metal 3 wood on some rocks several months ago, but continue to use it.
11/10/08
 
mike-YUL says:
I guess it's a question of security, like hockey players can't have a broken stick in hands. For instance, figure a club head breaking appart from the shaft and hit someone in the gallery, or a fellow player... No if , no but, no interpretations of the failure.
11/11/08
 
Eddy Whitaker says:
the rule isnt stupid..and its not JUST for pro's...it applies to everyone..and as far as damage goes...it even the slightest change..like if you took a putter and slapped it against your shoe...and it bent just a little..you would dq'd...and in my personal opinion..i wouldnt be surprised if he got dq'd on purpose..it happens a lot more often than you think
11/11/08
 
ToddRobb says:
I never understood the whole "stupid rule" thing. I think all can agree the rules need to be updated. That being said, in my opinion, if everyone knows the rule, how can it be stupid? Rules are usually called stupid by the person that broke the rule. Golf is a gentleman's game, most of if not all of the rules have been in place since the game was invented, which in my opinion adds to the mystique of the game. Every guy on tour knows damn well you can't do ANYTHING to your clubs, where does the stupidity come in? I don't think he did it on purpose, but once he did it, I do think he might have wanted an early exit. I think stupidity is knowing the rule, breaking it, and then bitching about it being a stupid rule. I don't think the tour has a "rules committee" like football has. Until they update some of the rules that are deemed "stupid", tee it up and play away.
11/11/08
 
ToddRobb says:
Another point, let's say that at some point in the round you decide that you putt better with a shorter putter. You take a hack saw out of your bag, chop off a few inches, wrap the shaft in duct tape and putt lights out for the rest of the round. Is that fair? That's an extreme case, but if the rule wasn't in place that could certainly happen. Just because Kim did it by "accident", doesn't matter. As "stupid" as the rules may seem, they're there for a reason.
11/11/08
 
Eddy Whitaker says:
you said what i said but in a much better way ..lol...and much clearer
11/11/08
 
[ post comment ]
 
    New Products
    Stats
    Caption This
    World Am
    How Bizarre!
Most Popular:

Subscribe