"Golf Rules RULE!"
Golf Rules Are Stupid (No. 3424)
By Kickntrue on 4/11/09
If I'm Padraig Harrington I'd be hot... real hot. He was penalized a stroke yesterday when the wind blew his ball 2 feet on the green. Harrington didn't touch the ball in any way. He set up- the wind gusted, he backed off, and the ball moved a couple feet on the glass greens.

One stroke penalty. ... ya that makes sense.

I can't believe Rory McIlroy got away with his "mistake." After missing a bunker shot he kicked the sand. Major no-no. For some reason the rules committee took bit on him and he wasn't penalized.

Eh- whatever. Every addiction needs a downside.

Enjoy round 3! What a great leaderboard.

Harrington Story (and more)
Round 3 Leaderboard


[ comments ]
kidputter says:
McIlroy would have been DQ'ed had he been penalized because it wasn't caught until after the round was over. Can't have the NEXT BIG THING DQ'ed at The Masters.
On the other hand, if the greens weren't so RIDICULOUSLY fast, the Harrington's ball doesn't move. Gotta question the keeper's in making these greens SO fast. They might as well putt on pool table felt.
4/11/09
 
M.Nugent says:
The greens need to be fast enough to provide a challenge but a 30 MPH (guess) wind gust SHOULD NEVER move a ball, especially if the PGA is going to penalize a player for what the wind does
4/11/09
 
majorlagg says:
he wasnt penalized because the ball moved, he was penalized because the ball moved after he had addressed the ball.
4/11/09
 
falcon50driver says:
Same thing...Who can predict when a gust is going to come up? We've been playing in some incredible winds the last few weeks. My scores reflect it.
4/11/09
 
helfon says:
He shouldn't have been penalized since he backed off it after he addressed it and backing off didn't cause it to move. I agree by rule he should be penalized but the rule should be changed.
4/11/09
 
pete52 says:
I with most of you guys, but the rule are rules. He addressed the ball, backed off, ball moves. Majorlagg is right, it's after he addressed the ball. Sorry patty.
4/12/09
 
ToddRobb says:
It's a pretty simple rule, if the ball moves after you've addressed it, whether or not you back away, it's a penalty. Padraig even said he was penalized fairly and didn't have a problem with it.
4/12/09
 
buttaknife says:
Dumb dumb rule you should not be penalized for something completly out of your control. Its like in football you got a 5 yard penalty for the wind blowing the ball off the tee. Its ok if it blew off but not if your about to kick it.It makes no sense
4/12/09
 
miuwu says:
Look, rules are rules like it or not. He knows the rules and he takes the chance when he addresses the ball! Ever wonder why Jack never grounded his putter behind the ball! Duh. Granted there are a lot of rules that maybe should be changed, but until they are READ THE RULEBOOK AND PLAY ACCORDINGLY!
4/12/09
 
ToddRobb says:
I have a question, what happens if he addresses the ball, backs away, the wind blows the ball into the cup??? Even though golf rules at first glance always seem "Stupid", they are in place for a reason. I'm thinking that's why, along with preserving tradition, they havn't changed them. In football the ball isn't in play until it's kicked, in golf the ball is considered in play once it's addressed. How many times have you seen a buddy tee up a ball and knock it off the tee while addressing it, have you ever seen that happen on tour? No. They know better.
4/12/09
 
kidputter says:
I have done that, Todd. I had been playing golf for about 8 months and took a practice swing, set up, and then bumped the ball off the tee. As I was re-teeing it, the guys said I was hitting 3. Thought they were joking. I knocked it in the cup and was ecstatic. They told me it was only PAR. I was pissed until they showed me the rule. It's a dumb rule but it's still the rule. It's over and it didn't decide the tourney. Play on and make the best of an unfortunate situation.
4/12/09
 
jerdman says:
Its a necessary rule, but dumb in certain situations. This was one of them. They need to add a time limit after you address the ball, such as 5 seconds or so to determine if your address caused the movement or a freak gust of wind such as in Paddy's case. The fact that he backed off and then was penalized is what blows my mind.
4/12/09
 
falcon50driver says:
I believe it is a stroke if the movement of the club was intended to advance the ball, not a stroke if the ball is knocked off the tee while setting up.
4/12/09
 
miuwu says:
You are correct merlin2driver. Rule 11-3 Ball Falling off Tee If a ball, when not in play, falls off a tee or is knocked off a tee by the player in addressing it, it may be re-teed, without penalty. However, if a stroke is made at the ball in these circumstances, whether the ball is moving or not, the stroke counts, but there is no penalty.
4/13/09
 
ToddRobb says:
My question still stands, what if the ball gets blown into the hole after it's been addressed? AND, what if it's the 72nd hole of the the U.S. Open and the player is tied for the lead? Golf rules are in place to have a ruling in unusual circumstances. That's why you always hear people bitching about the rules when ever they come into play in a tournament. Golf Rules aren't stupid, they're absolutely necessary.
4/13/09
 
will343 says:
If the ball is blown into the cup, then it should be like soccer, the rule should only apply if there is an advantage gained. Otherwise, it should be a no call. I don't really see the point in penalizing a player for the wind blowing.
4/13/09
 
Agustin says:
Paddy could have backed out of his address and marked his ball before it moved. I believe this is the only thing he could have done to avoid the penalty.
4/13/09
 
Agustin says:
miuwu says:
"...Ever wonder why Jack never grounded his putter behind the ball..."

So, if you do not ground your putter you have not addressed the ball?
4/13/09
 
karvoload says:
no. address is when ur in possition to make a stroke. he said he never grounds his putter, so the ball doesnt ungulate
4/13/09
 
Darren Orr says:
ToddRobb: if it goes into the cup it wouldn't count since the rule states that the ball has to be placed back to its original position.

Agustin and Karvoload : Address is when the player has taken stance AND grounded the club EXCEPT in the case of a Hazard where the club does not have to be grounded
4/14/09
 
ToddRobb says:
Darren: That's exactly my point, that's why the rule is in place.
4/14/09
 
[ post comment ]
 
    New Products
    Stats
    Caption This
    World Am
    How Bizarre!
Most Popular:

Subscribe