Chivalry Is Not Dead
By Kickntrue on 10/14/09
What is the feminine form of "chivalry"? Maybe it should be defined as Emma Talley owning up for a scorecard error that cost her a 2nd state championship.
Talley, a sophomore at Caldwell County High School, was in line to win her second straight Leachman Buick & GMC/KHSAA State Golf Championship on Sunday at Bowling Green Country Club. After shooting a 1-under-par 71 on Saturday, she finished Sunday's final round with a 73. The 144 total was five shots better than her nearest competitor, Sacred Heart's Lindsay Gahm.

But when her round was complete and her score had been posted, Talley's father, Dan, had a feeling something was wrong.

"He just asked me, 'Are you sure about everything?'" Talley said Monday afternoon. "I thought back GǪ and right there and then I knew what I had to do. I had to disqualify myself, unfortunately."
Emma won by 5 shots- so marking a par 5, instead of bogey 6 wouldn't have cost her a state title. Congrats to Talley for doing the right thing, and to her dad who helped her see her error. I'm sure there are plenty of parents who would've reasoned that their child would have won despite the error and kept their mouths shut- and nobody would have ever known.

Now- how about fixing a rule that doesn't let someone own up to an honest mistake, especially at the high school level? At least Talley is only a sophomore. She can still go win 2 more Kentucky state titles. "Three-year state champion" still has a nice ring to it.

Full Story

photo source

[ comments ]
Banker85 says:
rules are rules but sometimes they should reward honesty. Now it would be cool if the second place girl gave the title to Emma, that would be the right thing to do.
KVSmith59 says:
scorecard mistake disqualifications are stupid IMHO as long as the owning golfer is not intentionally cheating and comes forward and admits they made a scoring error. Especially with the pros whose scores are tracked by TV, and 10,000 fans.... also, just curious cause I've never heard of it being done, but what happens if someone gives themself a bogey instead of par. Are they also disqualified? Either way I think it's dumb.
jimithen says:
I'm amazed that with today's technology and everyone watching golf, the fans, and tv stations that golf can't go to an official score keeper for each group. If there is a score dispute we go to the video tape. This is the only sport that they won't just correct your score and let you continue play. No you have to disqualify yourself even, as the story says, you catch your own mistake. Its pencil on paper, ever heard of an eraser.
Shankapotamus says:
@KVSmith59- Rule 6-6d states The competitor is responsible for the correctness of the score recorded for each hole on his score card. If he returns a score for any hole lower than actually taken, he is disqualified. If he returns a score for any hole higher than actually taken, the score as returned stands.

So, to answer your question, you would have to take the bogey but you would not be disqualified. In the 1968 Masters when Roberto De Vincenzo famously gave himself a 4 instead of a 3, he put himself out of a tie for 1st but was not dq'd. Instead, he finished 2nd.
wrhall02 says:
Seems like golf does teach some valuable life Dad is right!

I wish every politician, CEO and pro athelete would be more like Ms. Talley.
twood says:
@KVSmith59 - proving "unintentional cheating"... that shouldn't be too difficult.
KVSmith59 says:
twood: lol....didn't realize I phrased it that way.

crazy rule.

Still totally agree with Jimithen.....

So, when playing with friends has anyone ever been disqualified for forgetting a shot and putting your score in wrong...not in my just get called names, we change the score and go onto the next hole...
[ post comment ]
    New Products
    Caption This
    World Am
    How Bizarre!
Most Popular: