No "real" pic to use - and I loved this.
Not Sure How I Feel About This
By Kickntrue on 5/6/10
A collegiate golfer who had already qualified for Nationals allowed his opponent to beat him on purpose since he couldn't qualify without a win. A nice guy move- but kind of against everything that sports are.
University of St. Francis (Ill.) golfer Grant Whybark has become a national name in light of his decision to intentionally lose a playoff for his conference tournament's individual title and allow an opponent to advance to the national finals.

Whybark, who had already qualified for the NAIA national championship by virtue of his team's victory in the Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference tournament on April 27, made a double-bogey on the first playoff hole to allow Seth Doran of Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) University to qualify as an individual.

...

"We all know Seth very well," Whybark said, according to GolfWeek, "and he not only is a very good player, but a great person as well. He's a senior and had never been to nationals. Somehow, it just wasn't in my heart to try to knock him out."
Here is the thing we don't know... did someone lose a spot because Seth Doran got in? If not (and I actually do not think this is the case) then it isn't that bad. If someone did get cut- we just need to remember that Whybark's move here was actually pretty cutthroat- he just didn't know it.

Eh- by the end of the post I've decided. I hate this. It's just not what you do. It's not like letting your little brother beat you at Tecmo Super Bowl so he doesn't tell Mom that you broke her crystal vase. This actually matters.

Full Story


photo source


[ comments ]
Matt Otskey says:
Eh, I don't have a problem with it. By losing, he's giving the other kid the chance to have a blast at a huge tournament.
5/6/10
 
bplewis24 says:
I don't like it at all in principle. If somebody else lost a spot because of it, I'd like it less and with more justification. But somebody else losing out isn't necessary for me. It reminds me of when Brett Favre intentionally lay on the ground at the end of a game in the final game of the season so that Strahan could achieve the single-season sack record. Strahan had no idea it was going to happen, but he ended up with this hollow record as a result.

I wonder how Doran feels knowing that some of his fellow competitors at nationals will know that he is there because somebody lost on purpose? I also wonder why Whybark didn't think Doran could just beat him straight up? That's what competition is about. I'm sure Doran is happy to be there--even if it's bitter-sweet for him--but I bet he'd be even more fulfilled had he earned it through-and-through.

Brandon
5/6/10
 
sepfeiff says:
@bplewis - Yea, maybe he would have appreciated it just that much more if he would have truly earned it. Who knows, maybe golf would look like a gentlemans game if more guys like Grant played it.
5/6/10
 
Clint24 says:
The competitor in me doesn't like it, but the golfer in me loves it. We read all the time about someone cheating to win or doing anything to win. It's really humbling to know that someone out there who would do this. Great story, and Yahoo thinks it would be a nice movie one day.
5/6/10
 
Nethmonkey says:
I think the kid that did it, did it all wrong. He should have missed a putt and just never said anything if he wanted to do this.
5/6/10
 
mjaber says:
I read this story yesterday. The kid that threw the hole (Whybark) was already qualified for Nationals. If he had won the hole, the only thing that would have changed is that Seth Doran would not have made it to Nationals. No one lost a spot.

I don't agree with the way Whybark has handled it. As Nethmonkey has said, he should have simply missed a putt, or left an iron short, and then kept his mouth shut.
5/6/10
 
scottccherry says:
Agreed, Mjaber. just know yourself that you helped a friend out to get to nationals. I guess some people need to have the public recognition of their "good deeds" though. Too bad.
5/6/10
 
Banker85 says:
ya he didnt have to tell everyone about it how humble is that. I am sure the guy who got in is feeling good that he only got the spot out of pity. I would not take it or demand a replay of the hole and stomp his little pompus ass into the f'ing ground!
5/6/10
 
jpleboeuf says:
The article says that it was Doran or no one. For that reason I think this is okay.
5/6/10
 
Trip says:
I like it for the same reason the poster above me stated. It wouldn't make sense for the one player to win "twice".
5/6/10
 
mmontisano says:
does anyone think that he may have just gotten too amped up that he's in a playoff, got a little out of sync and hit the banana ball on accident and he's just using this other kid as an excuse?
5/6/10
 
elektherelic says:
Story feels good.
5/6/10
 
K_Rich10 says:
What about the guy that got robbed of a spot because Whybark did this to let his teammate in?
5/6/10
 
K_Rich10 says:
Oops, nevermind. It was either Seth getting in by winning the playoff, or no one getting in. No one actually "lost" their spot.
5/6/10
 
dpoimboeuf says:
So Jack Nicklaus conceded a putt to Tony Jacklin that halved the Ryder Cup (The US held the cup, so a tie meant that they got to keep it) Everyone called that one of the greatest shows of sportsmanship in history. Pretty much the same thing here. I would agree that he should have just missed a putt or conceded a putt. Pretty cool thing to have done in my opinion.
5/6/10
 
TeT says:
Its all good....
5/6/10
 
georgelohr says:
It's a game...play to win or play to lose. Why would you play to lose? Just forfeit and not play at all.
5/7/10
 
Jake Bogardus says:
I do not like this at all. Think about it this way. In NCAA bball, lets say the #1 team in the nation gets to their conference tournament final and is playing for the automatic bid against a huge underdog that won't make the tourney if they don't get the auto bid. If the #1 team just threw the game, people would go ballistic. This is fixed pretty simply either play it out hard to the end, or put in a rule that a if a player is already eligible for the National tournament than than the runner up gets a spot. Also by coming out and telling the story, you did nothing special. OK you let the kid beat you? Are we supposed to praise you now for being so humble?
5/7/10
 
Bryan K says:
This is collusion, plain and simple. Whether or not someone else lost a spot due to Whybark's actions, anything that Doran does in the nationals are things that should not have happened. Now everyone else needs to beat one more person to take home the championship. This is an action that affected everyone in the tournament, and Whybark needs to be disqualified as a result.
5/7/10
 
bducharm says:
This was discussed in depth on Mike and Mike (on ESPN radio and ESPN2) yesterday. I am of the ilk you play to win the game. Plain and simple - I would not have intentionally hit one OB to let someone else in.
5/7/10
 
sigmapete1 says:
Ok so no one is out of the tournament altogether, but if Doran beats anyone, then the throwing of the match has hurt someone. Throwing a match, game, tournament of any sort is the same as cheating to win. The fabric of sports as a whole is based on playing to win.
5/7/10
 
Kurt the Knife says:
embarrassing, condescending and absurd.
The kid made a big mistake throwing the hole like that.
5/7/10
 
ElGalloGigante says:
Doran is a senior and has never played in the national tournament, so what Whybark did was admirable. I guess everyone here who thinks this is such a major tragedy has never received a helping hand throughout their lives. Good for you, you did it all by yourself from the get go.
5/7/10
 
Kurt the Knife says:
Not helping hand.. a condescending and insulting one.

didn't help him one bit.
5/7/10
 
ElGalloGigante says:
Whybark is a college sophomore, so I can forgive his lack of discretion. Again, kudos to all those who were mature men from the word, "Go."
5/7/10
 
mjaber says:
I think it would be an interesting 2nd chapter if Doran were to knock Whybark out of the National tourney.
5/7/10
 
mustang6560 says:
I think someone needs to change the rules. If Whybark winning would eliminate Doran, how come no one else would qualify? It doesn't seem right that two spots would be available if Doran wins but only one if Whybark.
5/7/10
 
meatball413 says:
I really dont care much for the article but as a NY Giants fan - I love the image! Go Big Blue!
5/7/10
 
Shankapotamus says:
I would think that winning an individual conference title would mean something to Whybark. I know it would mean enough to me to prevent me from losing on purpose.
5/7/10
 
coojofresh says:
i'm cool with it. it's not that serious. it's just a game.
5/8/10
 
Torleif Sorenson says:
@mjaber got it right. It was legal and was not unethical -- but just make the gesture; don't brag about it afterward.

"Thus, when you do some act of charity, do not announce it with a flourish of trumpets, as the hypocrites do... No; when you do some act of charity, do not let your left hand know what your right is doing; your good deed must be secret, and your Father who sees what is done in secret will reward you."
- Jesus' Sermon on The Mount, Matthew 6:2-4 (New English Bible)
5/12/10
 
[ post comment ]
 
    New Products
    Stats
    Caption This
    World Am
    How Bizarre!
Most Popular:

Subscribe