Juli Inkster DQ'd From TV Viewer
By Kickntrue on 8/23/10
LPGA veteran Juli Inkster was DQ'd this weekend when a TV viewer saw something amiss and called in a violation. Yep- seriously.
Inkster was disqualified from the Safeway Classic over the weekend (eventually won by Ai Miyazato) after a TV viewer caught her swinging a weighted club to warm up, a rules violation.

Inkster had a solid reason to take extra warmup precautions: her round was delayed by excess traffic ahead of her on the course. In her words, “I had a 30-minute wait and I need to loosen up.” But TV cameras showed her loosening up, and a viewer with an amazingly tight grasp on the golf rulebook couldn’t in good conscience let the infraction pass – so they notified the tournament.

And it’s not like this was just the capper to a rough weekend – Inkster was just three shots back of the lead. This is a seven-time major champion – she was capable of making a run. But it wasn’t to be, leaving her only able to say, “It is what it is,” and that she was (understandably) “very disappointed.”
So... I didn't see this... or the Dustin Johnson ruling until today, but I definitely have LESS sadness for Inkster, because as a longtime pro, she should have known the rule, PLUS, she had a lot of other options. She could've swung a single club. She could've swung multiple clubs. She could've swung the driver with the headcover on. She just shouldn't have used a "training aid," which the swing weight is classified as. All that said... how retarded?! Can we please have someone review these rule books?!

As one of the writers at Golf.com said though- who's going to be the first company to capatilize off this mistake and publicity? Just add a weight into the club's headcover. Smart- and probably on the market soon enough.

The best part of this though- is the fact that a TV viewer called in the violation. I've heard of this happening before- and I've got to ask- where do they get the number? Who do they call? I've been doing oob for 4 years- and nobody's ever provided me with the secret number to call in violations. Do you call the network? The tournament? The LPGA? And to that guy who called this in... congrats. You're officially a self-righteous, anal retentive, ass. I hope you're proud of yourself. How come I won't be surprised when you make yourself known and start doing interviews this week?! Will you give us access to your daily work and allow us to tell your supervisor every time you slip up?! Would you be willing to risk your bi-weekly paycheck on every mistake, because Juli Inkster does? Seriously... get real with your life.

Story - SportsGrid.com
PGA Tour Confidential


photo source


[ comments ]
Banker85 says:
that is crazy, must have some serious HighDef to see it was a weighted club. My guess is just call the tournament and they will get you to the right people. But ya, how dumb is she for that move?

So you really didnt hear about the "club gorounding heard around the world" unitl today? NOW THAT IS CRAZY!
8/23/10
 
Michael Colucci says:
When will tournaments stop taking calls from viewers that are looking to report violations? As far as I know, the PGA, LPGA, etc are the only professional organizations that allow cheez puff eating couch potatoes call in and report rules violations. Let's allow on-course officials and the players make these decisions
8/23/10
 
birdieXris says:
@Banker - no it wasn't a weighted club, it was actually a big weight that can be attached to the shaft. I saw it, it's very noticeable. I didn't see it when it happened though, just caught it on golf central and Sportscenter
8/23/10
 
bducharm says:
Again, she SHOULD know the rules (re: Dustin Johnson). You cannot use an aid. She could have taken 2 clubs out and swung them to loosen up!!!

@Banker85 (afraid to directly address you based on the last exchange) - it actually was pretty easy to see the donut she attached to the club...
8/23/10
 
Banker85 says:
I stand corrected. (twice)
8/23/10
 
SingleDigits says:
Yeah, I only saw about 10 min of the broadcast but happened to turn on the TV right when they were showing Inkster warming up with the donut on her club. My reaction was, "she's just about to tee off so late in the afternoon, must have had a lot of fog".

p.s. another TV call in happened when the Walrus had to hit a ball underneath a tree from his knees. He put a towel down on the ground first not to soil his pants and got called for "building a stance".
8/23/10
 
askarzy says:
I called it in guys, my bad.
8/23/10
 
falcon50driver says:
I heard somewhere that swinging with the headcover is a violation also...Here's rule 14-3 "Except as provided in the Rules, during a stipulated round the player must not use any artificial device or unusual equipment, or use any equipment in an unusual manner: "
To quote Bill Clinton "Define the word "IS" Inkster should argue "Define artificial" " What was "artificial" about the device I was using? It was not unusual, everybody uses them and I was using it in the usual manner that a person uses this device.
8/23/10
 
kennygreen1722 says:
I'm with Michael Colucci. This has happened at least twice in the past. Most notably when Craig Stadler kneeled on a towel next to a bush in 1987 to keep his white pants clean while hitting a shot in 1987...."Building a stance"....Pentalty 2 strokes. Paul Azinger in the 1991 Doral Ryder Open for dragging his feet back and forth in a sand bunker....."Moving loose impediments"....DQ'd It's ludicrous that "Foot wedge wielding" viewers/amatures with DVR's and High Def TV's are allowed to interfer and have the same authority as the officials on the course. I'm not saying it's ok to openly cheat as long as you're not caught(which I believe Ms. Inkster and Mr's Azinger/Statler were not)but I'm sure I would perform far better on league night if I could put a camera on everyone the minute they stepped out of their vehicle....anyone know how much it costs to rent a blimp?
8/23/10
 
Werepuppie says:
Well Inkster happens to be one of my two favorite golfers on the LPGA.It does suck,but rules are rules and she should have known them.I just wonder though;Are golfers allowed to practice after being pulled off the course for rain delays?
8/23/10
 
scottccherry says:
I was working at this tournament over the weekend. Inkster was using a weighted donut (training aid) in order to loosen up during her wait on the tenth tee after making the turn. That is the important part in this equation: She used it during play. If she had used it before teeing off on the first tee, she would have been ok.
In response to the viewer calling in, you have to remember that golf is much different from any other sport. You can't patrol an entire golf course with 2 or 3 refs, like in basketball or football or soccer or almost anything else. Also, the viewer did not DQ Inkster. They informed the tournament committee of something that they believed was a penalty, and the committee, upon seeing the video, decided that it was an obvious violation of the rules, and unfortunately had to DQ her. Inkster, though, definitely should have known better, being the seasoned pro that she is.
8/24/10
 
scottccherry says:
I was working at this tournament over the weekend. Inkster was using a weighted donut (training aid) in order to loosen up during her wait on the tenth tee after making the turn. That is the important part in this equation: She used it during play. If she had used it before teeing off on the first tee, she would have been ok.
In response to the viewer calling in, you have to remember that golf is much different from any other sport. You can't patrol an entire golf course with 2 or 3 refs, like in basketball or football or soccer or almost anything else. Also, the viewer did not DQ Inkster. They informed the tournament committee of something that they believed was a penalty, and the committee, upon seeing the video, decided that it was an obvious violation of the rules, and unfortunately had to DQ her. Inkster, though, definitely should have known better, being the seasoned pro that she is.
8/24/10
 
jev says:
@Werepuppie: chipping and putting maybe but hitting a driver or fairway strokes: no. Too lazy to look it up in the rulebook but there's a rule dedicated to practicing that describes the exact case.

I agree with the general consensus that it's a stupid thing that TV viewers can call and that the committee than actually actively checks those accusations. No good word for those viewers too; they should realize it's not in the spirit of the game to intervene if they're so hot on following every little gritty detail of the rulebook...
8/24/10
 
jev says:
Oh o... forgot to mention in my previous post... I was assuming you meant practice on the course. One is allowed to practice on driving range etc. during the pause.
8/24/10
 
Werepuppie says:
So you can warm up due to a delay?I guess you could not use training aids though?
8/24/10
 
trikai says:
Someone watching it on TV called in a rules violation! Those with rule books in your pockets...where in the rule book does it say, "rules officials shall be able to view recorded video to enforce the rules." It's like the city putting in red light cameras. It's not like it is "instant replay".

Johnson situation totally different. He knew the rules but it didn't look like a bunker. Even though it said "all sand treated like bunkers", there was waste and kids making sand castles in the same bunker while he was hitting out.

Is it a USGA rule that Pro's must wear pants? I agree no man capri's but why not shorts?
8/24/10
 
cincystephen says:
The bigger news here is that someone was even watching the LPGA to notice.
8/24/10
 
jev says:
@Werepuppie: the rule says a player may practice while play is suspended and it is reasonable to assume warming up is treated as "practice". I would stand to reason that using a training aid during that time is allowed too (it could not be checked anyway if play is suspended for the night, now would it? ;) ).

However, as soon as play is resumed, things change and one is restricted to putting & chipping on or around the previous green or the next teebox.

@trikai: PGA tournament regulations dictate a dresscode: slacks. Shorts, jeans and T-shirts do not fit that bill.
8/25/10
 
RGDickie says:
As pointed out on Golf Channel, if the device really has no interference to the game itself, to disqualify a player is harsh. Perhaps a stroke or two if the rule must remain, but common sense tells us this rule is outdated and should be removed. But the judges did the correct thing by applying the rule and sending Inkster packing. The game will go on!
8/25/10
 
[ post comment ]
 
    New Products
    Stats
    Caption This
    World Am
    How Bizarre!
Most Popular:

Subscribe