Jim Furyk Finds Justice
By mustang6560 on 9/1/10
Good news for Jim Furyk.
The PGA Tour has suspended its rule that kept Jim Furyk from playing in last week's Barclays tournament because he overslept and missed his tee time for the pre-tournament pro-am.

Furyk, who had been ranked third in the FedEx Cup standings, overslept because his cell phone alarm failed to work.
I think it was a smart move by Tim Finchem and the PGA Tour to handle similar issues in the future as a disciplinary matter rather than an automatic disqualification for a couple reasons.

First, the rule was first put in place back in 2004 to penalize PGA Players because too many were skipping the pro-am, which is a major source of revenue. Jim clearly did not purposely try to skip this tournament. Remember the sockless, beltless Furyk scurrying about trying to get to his tee box? Second, this rule doesn't apply to everyone. Only about half of the field is required to play the pro-am so why have a rule that is only enforceable for every other player?

The PGA Tour will not make any permanent decisions until The Player's Advisory Council and player directors meet later in the year to discuss the pro-am rules.

Furyk was No. 3 in the FedEx Cup Standings going into The Barclays, but dropped down to No. 8 after missing the tournament. He still has a chance to win as the second round of the PGA Playoffs is set to get underway in Boston tomorrow at the Deutsche Bank Championship.

Not gonna lie, I'm rooting for ole Furyk as I think it would be awesome to see him win the $10 million after not even playing in the first round!


Full Story

photo source


[ comments ]
Banker85 says:
so they suspend the rule after they impose the rule on Furyk?! that makes no sense. Like saying its illegal to chew bubble gum today and arresting someone and tomorrow saying its ok to chew bubble gum but keeping that first person in jail. im not that good wi/ analogies.
9/1/10
 
erickbelus says:
It's their way of saying "sorry we totally screwed the pooch on that one". It always takes something terrible to make a stupid rule go by the wayside.
9/1/10
 
homermania says:
I'm curious to know which half of the field is required to play the pro-am. That seems weird in itself.
9/1/10
 
mustang6560 says:
I see the analogy more like this. SMU's football program got the death penalty back in the 1980's for cheating. It severely damaged the program and it's only now coming back. The NCAA saw how badly it messed up and (probably) won't ever do that to any other program no matter the level of cheating (because it happens everywhere - hello USCheaters). That being said, they can't go back in time and change the outcome for SMU. They just have to cope. Jim Furyk is SOL, but hopefully nobody else will have to go through what Jim did in the future.
9/1/10
 
mjaber says:
I think the rule needs to be modified. If the player makes a concerted effort to get there, he's OK. Maybe a fine for repeatedly being late. Define "late" as the group he's supposed to be playing in has completed their first hole, or reached the green. If he just plain doesn't show, then the DQ.
9/1/10
 
Bryan K says:
Being late for a tee time? Is that even allowed?

The only issue I see here is that only half of the players are required to play the Pro Am. However, the way I look at it...if you're late for a tee time, then disqualification is certainly justified. If you're late for a tee time with me, chances are very likely that you won't be playing with me again any time in the near future.
9/1/10
 
birdieXris says:
@ Bryan - he was late for a pro-am tee time. By like 5 mins. I don't think disqualification is a fitting sentence for that, especially since the rule is there to protect the sponsor and provide for the player who is playing with them. That being said, if they disqualify him, the sponsor is now left with no star, and the amateur is left with no partner. Let's not even get into it that this is a pro-am. I mean, it's like a warm up for these guys. DQ? no. Fine? yea ok, probably a better idea. True though, if you're late for your actual tee time at the tournament, you're DQ'd.
9/1/10
 
sigmapete1 says:
Did they let him join the round in progress? If I was the guy that paid to play with him, I'd be wayyyy more pissed at the PGA than Furyk. I mean let the guy join at the second hole so the amateur can play 17 holes with Jim Furyk rather than play with himself!!
9/1/10
 
carv712 says:
Let’s not compare Saturday morning hacking at Minnesota Municipal to a $10,000,000.00 tournament of the world's best players. Guys like us pay to play golf; these guys get paid to entertain guys like us. It’s their job, so a better analogy would be if you were 5 minutes late to work so the boss suspended you for a week without pay. Worst of all for Furyk gets the opposite of justice since he gets burned for a rule that from now on the other players aren't subject to. So if another player skips the pro-am this or next week they don't drop 5 spots down the FedEx cup standings. Good call PGA! <----sarcasm
9/1/10
 
Bryan K says:
Xris and sigmapete:...you both make good points. I wasn't aware of what, exactly, a Pro Am was or what it entailed. However, @carv712, no way in hell I would pay to watch someone play golf. I might pay extra to play with someone of Furyk's caliber, but I wouldn't pay to watch.
9/1/10
 
jev says:
Rule 6-3 states DQ from the current game is the penalty for being late, but there's a note allowing the committee to waive the DQ and penalize the player 2 strokes if he's on the tee within 5 minutes after the starting time. This indicates to me such a DQ is considered often too harsh by the R&A / USGA as it is. In this light, the PGA rule to DQ the player from the real tournament certainly seems to be unnecessary harsh to me. So, a good decision to drop this rule IMHO. A fine would be acceptable I guess.
9/1/10
 
carv712 says:
@Bryan Kautzman, I'm just saying this is Furyk's job, not recreation like it is for hacks like us. We don't do the paying, but he is paid to golf.
9/1/10
 
cjgiant says:
@carv712 - if my first offense for being 5 minutes late to work was a suspension (let's assume this is my and Furyk's first offense in 5+ years), and I get suspended a week, I'd think it the most strict job in the world. Yes, these guys are paid quite a lot to do their "job", but come on! No one is perfect.

As such, I think the DQ rule is over the top for a first offense for being a little late. A significant fine would be good; how about matching the amatuer entry fee per hole missed up to three holes, at which point you are considered a no-show and DQ'd (on top of fine). Increasing the penalty per offense (2x) makes sense (up to and including DQ at let's say a 3rd offense).
9/1/10
 
Trav says:
This rule was waived because sponsors - the guys who actually pay the big bucks for a chance to get some marketing - were not happy that some of their clients paid $10K apiece to play with Furyk for 18 holes but were denied that privilege because of silly rule interpretation when he was 5 minutes late, trying to get to the tee, and then burned a new one for Finchem. Finchem and the tour are fortunate to hold onto every sponsor they can these days - especially reputable ones (anyone heard from Stanford Group lately?)

Nothing makes people act reasonable quicker than a pointed call from the hand that feeds them.

The Tour has a legitimate concern that players not blow off pro-ams, but this does not entitle them to enact mindlessly rigid and over-reactive rules allowing no leeway regardless of the facts.
9/1/10
 
Clint24 says:
I dont understand this. Ok, they suspended the rule so noone else will have to play in the pro-am for the rest of the year, but how are they to make this up to Jim? He was already DQ'd, you cant go back in time and let him play, or just say he finished here, and is here on the FedEx Cup standings. Thats not fair to the guys that played. I hate it when something like this happens. Its a lose-lose situation. Jim already lost his chance to play last week, and now many of the pro-ams are going to lose more of the pros that decide to take advandage of the rule being suspended.

Someone, please let me know if I'm wrong. I'm not an expert by any means on these rules.
9/2/10
 
mustang6560 says:
If your slated to play in the pro-am and miss your tee time completely without a valid excuse then you are DQ'd from the tournament. However, if you are running a little late they aren't going to DQ you. Had this been in effect for Jim, they would have let him play instead of DQ'ing him for the whole tourney.
9/2/10
 
mjaber says:
Apparently, there is a second part to this rule where guys in the Top 30 can opt-out of the Pro Am. They are still required to do some corporate schmoozing, though. Mickelson pulled this one out of his bag of tricks for this weeks tourney. Instead of playing th Pro Am, he's having dinner with some of the corporate execs.

I wonder what the time frame is to opt-out. Could Furyk have pulled this stunt, and played last week?
9/2/10
 
carv712 says:
I'd guess 15 minutes before your scheduled tee time is too late to opt-out of a pro-am.
9/2/10
 
[ post comment ]
 
    New Products
    Stats
    Caption This
    World Am
    How Bizarre!
Most Popular:

Subscribe