Excitement At Kapalua
By Kickntrue on 1/7/11
The PGA Tour 2011 season is one day old and we already have a rules violation DQ and a stolen putter! Awesome.

First- Camilo:
Villegas was chipping up the slope to the 15th green when the ball twice came back at him. The second time, he casually swatted away a loose piece of grass by the divot as the ball was still moving down the slope.

That was a violation of Rule 23-1, and he should have taken a one-shot penalty. Villegas opened with a 72, so he was disqualified for signing an incorrect scorecard.
I was actually watching this live when it happened. Something didn't quite seem right about it- but I assure you I am not the crazy person who called the PGA Tour and reported the violation (which is how Camilo was found out). Seriously- where do these crazies get the phone number? It doesn't matter- Camilo's birthday is today- and it turns out he's still rich, and now he has a whole weekend free in Hawaii to celebrate! Maybe he did it on purpose. The fact that the ball was rolling back down the hill to his feet for the 2nd time was already assuring a place near the bottom of the 29 man field.

And now- Stuart Appleby:
Before the first round of the Hyundai Tournament of Champions, Stuart Appleby and his caddie Scott Sajtinac discovered the putter was missing. Luckily, Appleby isn’t neurotic about his equipment. As a three-time champion of the event at Kapalua’s Plantation Course, he also feels comfortable on the greens.

“I tried to come up with a million ideas of what we may have done with the putter,” said Appleby after he shot a three-under 69 on Thursday. “I just said [to Matt Judy, one of my reps], get me an Odyssey putter and I’ll know what to do. It’s different, but the same. I putted pretty well.”
They are assuming it was stolen. It's the same putter Appleby used last year to shoot a 59. I'd probably sleep with the thing or use it as my walking stick.

Camilo Story
Appleby Story



photo source


[ comments ]
homermania says:
Seriously, who are these people that call in to report a rules violation? Do they call the NBA when they see someone get away with a travel?
1/7/11
 
bashworth says:
@homermania

yes, I call the nba at least 12,532 times a night
1/7/11
 
homermania says:
@bashworth
YES! Exactly the response I was looking for. Viva la Oob!
1/7/11
 
lcgolfer64 says:
@homermania
They'd need a couple of call-centers to handle that volume...
1/7/11
 
munk24 says:
I am actually a FB friend of this guy, he reported it on Twitter, he is a Big friend of Golf(especially the LPGA and has written a fictional book on the Duramed Fututes Tour. He raises money to help support women on that developmental tour, Most of the people on the blog noticed this and could not believe the golf announcers did not notice this. It was pretty clear violation of the rules. Dont think I would have done it, but thats why golf is the unique sport that it is.
1/7/11
 
munk24 says:
Matter of fact , Oob interviewed this guy and thats how I was introduced to him, just saying.
1/7/11
 
toothid says:
I understand that a Golf Channel employee found Appleby's putter lying on the practice putting green. He turned it, in and Appleby got it back. Not stolen, just abandoned.
1/8/11
 
Matt F says:
According to the prolific tweeter, Christina Kim and reposted by Oob, Jason Day duffed his tee shot.
1/8/11
 
Bryan K says:
What I want to know is who was the guy who called in to report that the PGA was dubbing in wildlife sounds (particularly birds) to make their events more, um...interesting. "Yeah, I'm just calling to let you know that I just heard a Western Whipporwhill on your broadcase from South Carolina and, um...well, there are no Western Whipporwhills in South Carolina."
1/8/11
 
bkuehn1952 says:
I can confirm Kim's tweet and @mwfaith1971's report. As I watched the Jets/Colts game I was jumping to golf at the ad breaks. They replayed Jason Day's tee shot from Friday. It was a worm burner that barely made the fairway 50 yards away.

I had always hoped some day I would be good enough to NEVER hit a shot like that. The fact that a PGA pro did it pretty much tells me I will never be good enough to not hit that shot. Sigh.
1/9/11
 
falcon50driver says:
That happens when you get Axial Tilt, It's a miracle.
1/9/11
 
Trav says:
@mwfaith - So true, a 100-yard drive: www.youtube.com/watch?v=294LUSFHKOA

He still made par.
1/10/11
 
[ post comment ]
 
    New Products
    Stats
    Caption This
    World Am
    How Bizarre!
Most Popular:

Subscribe