Karrie Webb Accused Of Cheating
By Kickntrue on 2/7/11
Karrie Webb is PISSED that she was accused of cheating at this weekend's Australian Women's Open. She has ever right to be.
GA's rules officials queried Webb's use of a tee laid behind her ball marker on the greens; the Queenslander told them she used the tee to help her read putts. The seven-time major championship winner, who finished the tournament tied for seventh with a five-under-par 287, told GA that she had been doing it for years, and that many players on the US LPGA Tour did the same."The handling" that she is pissed about would be the fact that this is a known situation- and we're talking about it- and the fact that she was accused of cheating in the first place.
With 36 career victories- and from my quick math- well over $13M in career earnings, I think we can assume Webb doesn't need to cheat to win. The Australian Open should be thrilled that Karrie Webb decided to honor her home country by even showing up at their little shindig. Accusing her for cheating probably wasn't the best move.
* Thanks to oober, Joe for the tip on the story!
[ comments ]
Are you serious? Things are getting completely out of hand now.
Next they'll be getting out the sponge and soap to clean off any Sharpie lines drawn on the balls. Also, if a player is found to be aiming their drives at a landmark off in the distance, that landmark shall promptly be destroyed. You know, since it's unfair to the other players.
The fannation.com article is quite clear what the alleged illegal action is. If she's using a tee to line up a putt, no problem. If the alignment aid is there during the stroke, that's where it becomes illegal (I think). Anybody have their rulebook handy?
*that was meant to say "isn't clear."
what, is she also using the putter from Caddyshack that Rodney was using. Damn Aussies
I don't think the breach of a rule means the same thing as cheating. She was questioned about a possible breach of a rule. Ultimately, it was determined that putting a tee down as an alignment aid was not a problem as long as prior to actually taking a stroke it was removed. If I were in the same position, I probably would have been pretty irritated about being questioned on some supposed rule violation. Who needs that distraction when what you are doing is perfectly acceptable within the rules.
I have not read anywhere that any official accused her of trying to hide what she was doing. Breaching a rule and then hiding the act or lying about it later would constitute cheating in my book.
What exactly is the reason for her putting a tee on the green behind her ball marker? If the ball is already marked then why need an additional item on the green? It sounds that a person doing this is asking for people to take notice.
@G.Renner - thing is, doesn't matter if people take notice. The fact remains that it's not against the rules and it wasn't handled properly. This is kinda the same thing as that time Sarah Brown was accused during play. She was disqualified, but the thing is they jumped before they had the right information. Same instance. They questioned her without researching the practice and the rule.
What is the purpose of putting a tee behind your ball marker on the green? Why would this ever be necessary? Last time I checked the word "queried" refers to question and not an accusatory term. Why was this not handled properly? It seems that they asked her questions about it and no penalty was handed down. End of story.
@G.Renner - Putting a tee behind your marker makes it much easier to see. Say you're 30 feet from the cup. You mark your ball, then stick a tee in the ground behind it. Now when you go to the opposite side of the cup, and get low to read the breaks, you can spot the tee sticking up instead of just the marker lying flat on the green.
[ post comment ]