Dustin Penalized Two Strokes
By mustang6560 on 2/18/11
Dustin, Dustin, Dustin.
Dustin Johnson was penalized two strokes yesterday because he was not on the tee box for his starting time at 7:32 A.M. A player has five minutes to get to the tee box after their name is called before they are DQ'd. Dustin arrived with six seconds to spare.
Dustin Johnson wound up with another bizarre penalty Thursday when his caddie thought his tee time was 40 minutes later than it was, and he had to race up the hill at Riviera just to avoid being disqualified.It's easy to want to blame Dustin for this, but this is clearly his caddie's fault, Bobby Brown. As the player, your focus needs to be on getting ready to play, not worrying about getting to the tee box on time. If I was Dustin, I'd fine my caddie an equivalent of two strokes of pay. In my mind, there is no excuse for this.
I hope for Dustin's sake, he either wins outright or is not in contention. Can you imagine how crappy he's going to feel if he finished two strokes back?
[ comments ]
My question is, if the penalty for not being there on time is DQ, how do they justify 2 strokes? if he would have been late by 2 minutes, would it have been one stroke??
@birdie... the penalty for not being on the tee at your tee time is 2 strokes. If you don't arrive within 5 minutes of you tee time, you are DQ'd.
More intense guys would have probably fired the caddy on the spot. Dustin is pretty laid back - maybe too much! Lesson learned.
He says he leaves that kind of stuff up to his caddy. Personally, I would just take a glance at my tee times (and local rules sheets!) every week. I really like DJ's laid back attitude as well. I think it will serve him well.
Is this the same caddy who forgot to mention, "Hey DJ, the ball looks to be in some sand. Let's not ground our club until we are sure it is okay."? Yes, at some point it all comes back to DJ to know which end is up. Still, my expectation of a professional caddy is that he is watching my back, not contributing to my attention deficit disorder.
@bkuehn1952- yup same caddie...
AHHHH i see now. Thanks mjaber. i must have read it wrong.
Wow...another lapse DJ.
Jim Gray got pulled off of Golf Channel's coverage this weekend after questioning Johnson during the round about the penalty, and Johnson's caddie confronted him about it after the round. It also sounded like Johnson's playing partners were not happy with Gray over the timing of the questions.
that would be quite a story if he wins despite this
I may be in a minority - but am I right the caddy is trying to prevent a reporter from asking questions that make public the caddy's mistake? If this was Stevie W people would say it was another example of haughtiness. I agree there should be some limits on time and place, but I have a problem giving caddies control over reporters. Besides, all DJ had to do was say "we were mixed up about the time, we can talk after the round." If you're in a public business, you have to learn basic media management, it's part of the deal.
@Trav- I think the difference here is who the reporter was that asked the question. Jim Gray = D Bag There is still a time and place for questions and Gray has rubbed way to many people wrong. So in some peoples minds he has lost that wiggle room in questions. Just ask Pete Rose.
That caddie has cost him enough. Get rid of him. Have you ever rushed into a test late? It's absolute adrenaline pumping misery for a while.
It wasn't the fact of a reporter asking a question, it was the timing. Gray was asking DURING the round.
666 Iron says:
I'd beat the caddy senseless.
[ post comment ]