USGA & R&A Adjust Ruling
By mustang6560 on 4/7/11
The USGA and R&A announced today it will no longer disqualify players who are "unaware" they signed an incorrect scorecard due to a penalty assessed post round.
This revision to Decision 33-7/4.5 addresses the situation where a player is not aware he has breached a Rule because of facts that he did not know and could not reasonably have discovered prior to returning his scorecard. Under this revised decision and at the discretion of the Committee, the player still receives the penalty associated with the breach of the underlying Rule, but is not disqualified.

In revising the decision, The R&A and the USGA confirm that the disqualification penalty still applies for scorecard breaches that arise from ignorance of the Rules of Golf. As such, this decision reinforces that it is still the responsibility of the player to know the Rules, while recognizing that there may be some rare situations where it is reasonable that a player is unaware of the factual circumstances of a breach.
All I have to say "It's about time!". Anyone familiar with golf knew it was only a matter of time before the USGA and R&A adjusted this ruling. With the advancement in technology, it was not fair for players to be disqualified for "unknowingly" signing an incorrect scorecard because they were assessed a two stroke penalty post round.

Interestingly enough though, this ruling would not have prevented Camilo Villegas from being disqualified. Camilo's rules violation was the result of his ignorance of the rules. The USGA and R&A changed the rules to protect the players who are "unaware" they violated a rule and not the players who violated a rule because of personal negligence of the rules.

I would like to commend the USGA and R&A for updating this ruling. People like to crack on the ruling bodies of golf for being out of touch with golf so it's important to point out when they do something good. At the end of the day, fans don't want to see their favorite players disqualified for a silly technicality.



Full Story

photo source


[ comments ]
mjaber says:
Now if they would only implement the DQ for slow play...
4/7/11
 
mustang6560 says:
LOL. Baby steps mjaber, baby steps...
4/7/11
 
birdieXris says:
Great news!!! I think this is great. This will pretty much eliminate the armchair rules official who watches the ball with eagle eyes after it's replaced or marked, and rolls forward 1/100th of an inch.
4/7/11
 
Werepuppie says:
Great move.They used the plan I suggested.Penalties will still count but no DQ.
I should have copyrighted my suggestion when we posted about this subject a month or so back.
4/7/11
 
bkuehn1952 says:
Werepuppie for President!! Okay, maybe I am getting a bit carried away. Good move by the R&A/USGA.
4/7/11
 
KVSmith59 says:
so, does this mean that if someone just claims they didn't realize they had violated a rule they were aware of that they're good to go, but if they tell the officials they didn't know about the rule itself, then they are dq'd? I'm confused!

"Interestingly enough though, this ruling would not have prevented Camilo Villegas from being disqualified. Camilo's rules violation was the result of his ignorance of the rules. The USGA and R&A changed the rules to protect the players who are "unaware" they violated a rule and not the players who violated a rule because of personal negligence of the rules"
4/7/11
 
Werepuppie says:
It means that if you did not know that you actually violated a rule you knew about,then no DQ.If you intentionally did something that was in violation a rule you were unaware of,then DQ.
4/7/11
 
666 Iron says:
mjaber says:
Now if they would only implement the DQ for slow play...

I always get stuck behind the "Human Rain Delay".
4/8/11
 
mjaber says:
@666 Iron... have you considered carrying a Kingman Spyder as your 15th club?
4/8/11
 
[ post comment ]
 
    New Products
    Stats
    Caption This
    World Am
    How Bizarre!
Most Popular:

Subscribe