Bubba Watson Wins Zurich Classic of New Orleans
By mustang6560 on 5/2/11
Bubba Watson was the beneficiary of Webb Simpson's bad luck on Sunday en route to win the Zurich Classic of New Orleans. The victory was his second PGA Tour victory of the year and the third of his career.
Watson overcame a three-stroke deficit over the final eight holes of regulation and beat Webb Simpson in a playoff Sunday in the Zurich Classic of New Orleans for his second PGA TOUR victory of the year and third of his career.

"My wife, my caddie and my trainer would say my attitude's in the right spot," Watson said. "This week, I won (by) not getting down on bad shots, just staying focused on what I'm supposed to be doing."
On hole 15, Simpson had a long birdie putt. He left his putt a foot from the hole and decided to tap in. As he took his putter back, the ball moved a hair. He stopped his backswing and called a rules official who unfortunately had to assess him a 1-stroke penalty.
"I better limit my comments on that rule, because I think it's such a bad rule," said Simpson, who seemed to think windy conditions, combined with relatively dry, hard greens, caused the ball to move. "When the wind or other natural things affect the golf ball, the player shouldn't be penalized. ... It was just unfortunate, but Bubba deserves a win, and I'm pretty happy for him."
I couldn't agree more with Webb. This rule is antiquated and needs to go away. If the player did not cause the ball to move, they should not be assessed a penalty. This was almost as bad as what happened to Brian Davis in the playoff last year at The Heritage. Such is life of a professional golfer.

Bubba is my boy, but I cannot help but feel for Webb. He was playing great and (basically) the only thing that prevented him from winning for the first time on Tour was a bad break. Despite Webb's bad break, Bubba made a clutch (clutch!) birdie putt in the first playoff hole to extend the match. Webb had already birdied the hole and Bubba was facing 12-foot, downhill putt that he had to make. Bubba played well all week and earned the victory, even though he did get some luck in the end.



Full Story

photo source


[ comments ]
birdieXris says:
didn't he beat Webb Simpson, not Adam Scott?
5/2/11
 
dartboss04 says:
adam scott wasn't in this tournmanent???...edit replace all scott with simpson ;)...
5/2/11
 
mustang6560 says:
Whoooops.
5/2/11
 
Banker85 says:
Adam Scott? how do you confuse Adam Scott with Web Simpson? Someone have a man crush on Adam Scott??? Seems like every week on tour there is a playoff... Good Golf!
5/2/11
 
bducharm says:
AWESOME win by Bubba! Nails on the birdie putt on the first playoff hole! LOVE watching Bubba play!!!
5/2/11
 
dartboss04 says:
a lot of the rules are starting to piss me off actually...i understand you don't want people taking advantage, but some are just unfair...

golf channel ran one of their top 10 shows last night on rulings...i think the most ridiculous are those on signing and incorrect card...you shot what you shot out there...they should get rid of that completely...
5/2/11
 
ppinkert says:
How can you win playing against "Acts of God"?
5/2/11
 
Kurt the Knife says:
Poo.
I hate tuning into oob' before I get a chance to see my recordings of the final round.

grr
5/2/11
 
bkuehn1952 says:
As a Rules Snob, I hate to see the Rules of Golf dragged through the mud. Many of the rules are designed to eliminate disagreements. Did a golfer make his ball move or did the wind? If Webb had not grounded his putter, the movement of the ball would not have been attributed to him. He could have waited for the ball to come to rest and then hit it or marked it. No harm. As soon as he grounded his club and took a stance (i.e. addressed the ball), any movement would result in a penalty.

Do I think it is fair for someone to get a penalty for the wind moving the ball? No. The rule is really pretty silly. However, when one is playing for $1,000,000+ prize money, one needs to be aware of the options on a windy day, like not grounding one's club.
5/2/11
 
jrbizzle says:
Whether one agrees with the rules or not, this one is WAY WORSE than what happened to Brian Davis last year. Davis hit his ball way off line into a hazard, where he left himself open to the possibility of bad things happening. Webb Simpson left himself an easy one foot putt that the wind blew off line.
5/2/11
 
mmontisano says:
i think it's ridiculous actually. if the wind knocks my ball off my tee, even after i've grounded my driver, i don't get a penalty. so why should we get one on the green?
5/2/11
 
Backquak says:
@badcaddy, because the ball is not in play on the first tee until u hit it, and it is in play until holed. But thats why most pros do not ground the club on the green, just for this reason. They take a few practice strokes step up to the ball and keep the putter off the ground and make the stroke.
5/2/11
 
larrynjr says:
I didn't get to watch and I wonder how noticeable the movement was. Cudo's to Web for calling the penalty on himself. Not everyone would one call that with almost 1/2 million on the line between winning and second place.
5/2/11
 
bkuehn1952 says:
Pro golfers should be aware of all the ticky tack little rules. It is the nature of the game and becomes necessary when there are 150+ players wandering around a playing area of several hundred acres.

I have heard other golfers say, "I did not ground my club because the wind was really blowing and I did not want to get a penalty if the ball moved." So it is not like this situation has never occurred or there is not a solution.

Webb Simpson knew the rule. Yes it may be an unfair rule. However, he has only himself to blame. He could have not grounded his putter. He could have marked and replaced his ball. He certainly should have been aware that the situation was ripe for the ball to be moved by the wind.
5/2/11
 
dottomm says:
How many play offs has Bubba had in the last two seasons? Geesh! It seems like every week Bubba's in contention it goes to a playoff.
5/2/11
 
TheBrownCrayon says:
New Orleans deserves someone named Bubba to win.
5/2/11
 
Clint24 says:
Go Bubba!
5/2/11
 
mjaber says:
I love that the only reason he was playing was because his mom asked him to.
5/3/11
 
mjaber says:
@dottomm... this was his 3rd playoff. He is now 2-1 in playoffs.
5/3/11
 
Kurt the Knife says:
@ppinkert
"How can you win playing against "Acts of God"?"

Atheism
5/4/11
 
[ post comment ]
 
    New Products
    Stats
    Caption This
    World Am
    How Bizarre!
Most Popular:

Subscribe