Kyle Stanley's Name Was On Winner's Check
By mustang6560 on 1/30/12
Someone at the Farmers Insurance Open got a little ahead of him/herself Sunday and wrote Kyle Stanley's name on the winner's check before the final putt dropped.


In realty, though, can you blame the aforementioned him or her? Nobody on the planet figured Kyle Stanley would triple bogey the last hole at Torrey Pines South Course and wind up losing in a playoff to Brandt Snedeker.

Nonetheless, it's always funny to see this sort of stuff when it happens. Innocent mistake.


[ comments ]
Matt Otskey says:
Why don't they learn??? It ain't over till it's over
Torleif Sorenson says:
Peter Kostis "called it" when he predicted that Snedeker pulled too much club at 16, Snedeker air-mailed it off the CBS tower. But Snedeker is obviously an excellent player -- he got up-and-down from a place that most of us would have gladly taken bogey.

I refuse to criticize Kyle Stanley; his approach at 18 was almost to the exact, correct spot -- just a touch too much spin put him in the water. He obviously has what it takes to win on the PGA Tour and, even though it didn't happen on Sunday, I predict that it will happen sooner than later.

"Behold, I have refined you, but not as silver;
I have tested you in the furnace of affliction."
- Isaiah 48:10 (NKJV)
GBogey says:
My opinion is that Stanley caught a bad break and Snedeker got a great one. Stanley played it right and hit a good shot - just too much spin. If not for the TV tower, Snedeker either ends up with a penalty or totally impossible shot as opposed to the one he ended up with. I'd like to see the tours make a rule change here - I've seen several instances where a really bad shot ends up next to temporary objects that support the tournament - whether it be crowd fences or TV towers. A bad shot that would be deadly if the course was playing without tournament features ends up being playable for a save. What's wrong with saying if the ball hits the tower it's a one-stroke penalty or at least impose an onerous drop area.
DaRupp13 says:
The point about Stanley's approach shot on 18 green is that he shouldn't have been going for the pin in the first place. He didn't need birdie to win, he didn't even need bogey, he needed double bogey to WIN. If he puts it in the fat of the green on the right and 4 PUTTS he still wins.
Backquak says:
Everyone is talking about the approach in the water, but that's not what did him in, he should have been able to make bogey or even double and still win. I want to know what happened after the water??? did he 3 putt?
joe jones says:
Stanley will recover quickly. Second place money will go a long way toward taking the bitter taste from his defeat. He is a wonderfully talented young man and has a great future. The rub of the green worked for Snedeker and against Stanley. The next time it very may well go the other way. Great theater in any case.
SpaceMaNy0 says:
Yeah, but how will he do in realty?
Torleif Sorenson says:
1000 points to DaRupp13 for hitting the nail on the head.
[ post comment ]
    New Products
    Caption This
    World Am
    How Bizarre!
Most Popular: