Understanding Rule 14-1b
By mustang6560 on 11/28/12
To better understand the changes to Rule 14-1 of the Rules of Golf, which bans anchored putting, the USGA and R&A put together this infographic. Essentially, you can still use long putters, however, you can't anchor it against your sternum or belly or anywhere else on your body.




read more

Read an interesting article? Tip Your Editor!


Image via Flickr, USGA


[ comments ]
Matt McGee says:
I don't see a picture of Jack Nicklaus' method of putting shown here. From what I'm seeing, considering the "anchor point created by forearm" graphic, his putting stroke would be against the rules, wouldn't it?
11/28/12
 
mustang6560 says:
You know who the big winner in all of this is? Matt Kuchar. He can still anchor his belly putter against his forearm because the ruling bodies' decided that wasn't anchoring. #winning
11/28/12
 
guzzlingil says:
@ mustang....I am sure many of the long putter guys will attempt to transition to that....would be my guess anyway...
11/28/12
 
joe jones says:
Per Mike Davis of the USGA "new rule will have no effect on side saddle putting".I putt side saddle and don't anchor anything but suppose I did.What a bunch of B.S.
11/28/12
 
Torleif Sorenson says:
The "Posture Police" will be out looking for the "anchor point created by forearm." Just as with ObamaCare, this is going to be ugly.
11/28/12
 
[ post comment ]
 
    New Products
    Stats
    Caption This
    World Am
    How Bizarre!
Most Popular:

Subscribe