Never Have I Ever...
By mustang6560 on 10/19/11
I noticed it's been over two years now since we posted the last "Never Have I Ever" question on oob, so I thought I'd bring it back for some fun. It's funny what people will admit to doing on the golf course when you ask them. Today's question is ...

"Never have I ever used a 'foot wedge' to improve my position during a competitive round of golf".

I'm using the word "competitive" loosely here. Using a foot wedge during a practice round or an out of season round is acceptable. But, what I'm really trying to find out is have you ever used the infamous foot wedge during a round where you're playing by the rules so a foot wedge would be deemed illegal?

Don't be shy, we won't judge you ... OK, maybe we will, but it's all in good fun!



Got an idea for a future "Never Have I Ever" question, email me at nathan@oobgolf.com.

photo by Drew Coffman


[ comments ]
homermania says:
That commercial with Phil cracks me up everytime I hear him say, "Foot wedge, huh?"
10/19/11
 
birdieXris says:
NO, that would be straight cheating. never during a competitive round or a round that counts for handicap. i also never used "go ahead and take it out of that. Jeez what a lie" in a round that counts.
10/19/11
 
bkuehn1952 says:
Pre-Rules Snob: No, not in a formal competition or where money was on the line. I did resort to various justifications for moving my ball when playing a normal "handicap eligible" round, as documented in my prior confession to having been a vanity handicapper.

Post-Rules Snob: No, not during a formal competition or with money at stake. I try my best to adhere to both the letter and spirit of the Rules of Golf during normal "handicap" play, too. There are times when I grant myself relief when a fairway is churned up by racoons or some other unusual ground condition but the area is not marked GUR. Very few public courses go to the bother of marking GUR or posting local rules such as permitting range finders & GPS. So I assume if they did take the time, it would have been marked or posted.
10/19/11
 
dartboss04 says:
never in my sunday league or a formal tournament with money on the line as bkuehn1952 said, but i do tend to move my ball if i could damage my club or myself...

situation doesn't come up often...but i play at a not so great course for my thursday work league (no money involved) and there are some spots just off some of the fairways with hardpan and exposed stone...i'm not going to damage an iron to hit a meaningless shot...i've also moved my ball if my down swing would hit a root...should take an unplayable in these situations, but didn't...

vanity handicapping for sure...but only happened for 3 or 4 shots this season...this confession may guilt me into taking the unplayable on those...
10/19/11
 
dartboss04 says:
oh and i can recall one more situation this year...i dub it the panic attack rough fluff...

i tend to get a little anxious on the first hole, especially playing with people i don't know...it's all a mental issue, but i just need to get the first one out of the way...i joined a threesome of guys for a round early this year, popped up my tee shot, topped two subsequent hybrids about 50 yards each, with the last one ending on a dry patch between clumps of rough...shot had skull written all over it and i just couldn't do it, so i rolled it onto a rough puff and proceeded from there...felt guilty, but the shame would have been worse...
10/19/11
 
Tim Horan says:
I have never used a foot wedge to improve my lie...however I played a particularly odious character in a charity match and used my nr 10 leather wedge to flick his ball out of bounds. I was not in the running and I made sure he wasn't either. Forgive me? I don't care if you don't. He deserved it!
10/19/11
 
bkuehn1952 says:
@Tim Horan: At least you had the guts to do something. I just mentally wish evil things on that type of player. Your approach is more forthright.
10/19/11
 
falcon50driver says:
You never want to cheat. In our weekly men's association dogfight, I hear people talking about things they see a certain few guys do. I surely wouldn't want to be included in that group. You get caught one time, your'e branded a cheater.
10/19/11
 
Kickntrue says:
I've done it. Never when it mattered for real... but I've done it. Good one Nate.
10/19/11
 
elhacker says:
On my first day of our Thursday night league I got called a sandbagger. I hit a shot o.b. and recorded a 6. The guys my partner and I were playing against said I parred the hole. They didn't see me shank one into the woods and o.b. They thought I was trying to pad my handicap. We argued a bit but they weren't buying it. So I let them mark me down as a 4 on their card and we ended up winning the round by 2 strokes. Being new to the league who were we to argue?
10/19/11
 
elhacker says:
Eventually, everyone in the league saw how crappy I was and realized we were really telling the truth.
10/19/11
 
SpaceMaNy0 says:
I know guys in leagues that fluff every shot. "Everyone gets to, so it's not cheating." Yeah. I play it as it lies, unless imminent club breakage is obvious.
10/20/11
 
SpaceMaNy0 says:
No edit button on these...

If I do have to move it, it's a penalty stroke. I'm a stickler for my actual score, so I can see the improvement. It helps overall, I think, to take all those duffs and penalties, so when you shoot even par it's the best feeling in the world. (Yes, I recently shot an even par round, as a 14-16 handicapper.)
10/20/11
 
woobwoob says:
@homermania - I always lose it when that commercial comes on.
10/20/11
 
Banker85 says:
They guy in that commercial also double hits it i think. I have done it but never with money on the line or anything serious. Vanity Handicapper i guess.
10/20/11
 
DoubleDingo says:
I am a play it as it lies kind of guy, even in a casual round. If you improve your lie by cheating, you just cheat yourself and you don't learn the shots needed to get you out of those situations. Foot wedge is a bad bad thing.
10/20/11
 
cjgiant says:
I have declared my own Ground Under Repair a la @bkuehn1952 as well as deciding on my own on wet days it's lift/clean/replace. I have also taking a "free" (read: illegal) drop when I am having a bad round and I don't feel like damaging a club. But I generally follow that rule, if I am having a round that will "count" for HC, I play it as it lies and take my medicine. If I am on my way to a big score, I don't care as much.
10/20/11
 
DSWarmack says:
Short time member first time respondent; My father, having raised a rules snob, would kill me (or at least tap me in the ankle with his putter) if I did such a thing when in competitive play. If I'm playing for practice, I'll probably leave it where it is so I can practice the shot from behind a tree!
10/21/11
 
glenrich says:
I have done this before when the ball was sitting in some rocky terrain. I was told by another player that local rule said I could but I am not sure if that was true or not since the guy seemed know a lot of 'local' rules.
I have also used my 15th club instead of dropping when taking relief from the cart path. I learned this little technique from watching other players and it seems quite common.
A couple of weeks ago I found the ball sitting on a steep incline next to the edge of a pond but outside the hazard line. I would have had to stand with one foot in the water and could have easily fallen. I did not have a change of clothes and had to work after my round so there was no way I was going to risk it.
So I tapped a little uphill sideways foot wedge to my ball. I actually had to wedge it twice to get it up far enough so there is yet another shot I need to practice more often. I made triple bogey on the hole anyway so in the end it didn't really matter much.
10/21/11
 
[ post comment ]
 
    New Products
    Stats
    Caption This
    World Am
    How Bizarre!
Most Popular:

Subscribe