The ultimate hole-in-one
By mustang6560 on 8/16/12
It's been a minute since my last hole-in-one story, and since it's been decided that the only reason I write about hole-in-one stories is to remind you that I have a hole-in-one, well, here you go.
Some guys have all the luck - and perhaps a little skill as well. Such was the case for 67-year-old Rich Akin, who not only recorded his fifth career ace last weekend but his sixth, too, both in the same round.
There are two things that are interesting about this particular hole-in-one story. First, Mr. Akin recorded two aces in one round. The odds of that happening, according to the National Hole In One Registry, are 67 million to 1. And second, Mr. Akin used the same ball for both aces!
Akin's high draw landed about 15 feet short of the pin and trickled in, similar to what he did earlier on the par-3 fifth hole with a pitching wedge. Akin, who is a senior vice president of an engineering and construction company in Houston, also used the same ball for both shots, which is unusual. He had intended to save the ball he used for the first one, but when he lost his second ball in a water hazard, he wound up using his original ball on the 17th.
It worked out in Mr. Akin's favor, but you should never, ever put a hole-in-one ball back in play - regardless of the circumstances!

read more

Read an interesting golf article? Tip Your Editor

Image via Flickr, D.Hilgart

[ comments ]
mjaber says:
So if he only had 2 balls with him for the round, when the 2nd went into the water he should have just headed to the clubhouse and not finished his round?
mustang6560 says:
I would have borrowed a golf ball.
Banker85 says:
I would have had more then two golf balls.
Duke of Hazards says:
I guess since this guy had 4 prior Aces (really?), he could afford to be a bit nonchalant.
bkuehn1952 says:
After my first hole-in-one I played the ball for 3 more holes (all with water hazards) until I decided to retire the ball. Smart move as the ball now sits ... in an egg carton in my basement. I won't build an altar to my lucky shot so what the heck am I going to do with a beat up old ball?
falcon50driver says:
That's gotta suck, not having a ball to put in the second trophy. I put my TWO hole in one balls in separate trophies in the shape of gold ONEs. Thank you Mustang for giving me the opportunity to mention that I had TWO hole in ones, and in case you forgot I won a MUSTANG GT for the second one, did I ever tell you that?
jfurr says:
after the second hole out, straight to buy a lotto ticket.
ps Merlin - I recall reading that - you still have the car? nice goin'
Bryan K says:
Okay, hold on a second here. I believe that Mr. Akins broke the rules. The only way he could have taken the first one out of play was by declaring it unplayable, and that means that he would not have been allowed to put it back into play.
Bryan K says:
After close consultation of the rules, it appears as if Mr. Akins's second ace is still legit.
SpaceMaNy0 says:
My brother made a hole in one a week or so ago, dunked it on the fly. Too bad it was a mulligan.
SteveMM says:
SpaceMaNy0 - More than anything regarding aces, this is what I fear the most -- that the only ace I record in my entire life will be off of a mulligan. You can't brag nearly as loudly when it was off of a mulligan.
Matt McGee says:
I watched a guy hit a hole in one once.
This guy has hit SIX? Sheesh.
Wes11point5 says:
I snap hooked my hole-in-one ball OB about a week after making mine. DUMB!
bkuehn1952 says:
Hardest shot in golf is making 3 after dunking the first tee ball in the water.
homermania says:
My term for a mulligan hole in one is the dreaded Black Ace.
Bryan K says:
My nephew had an awesome shot off of number 15 at Bully Pulpit in Medora, ND over the weekend. To give some background, the hole has a green that is on the side of a bluff. If you miss the green, you ain't finding your ball. He put this tee shot about four feet from the pin and sunk the putt. However, it was his second tee shot. His first one went into the environmentally sensitive area to the right from where a free drop is allowed. Therefore, he was shooting two off the tee when he went up and down for par. He got mad at me because I wouldn't let him card the birdie. When he does finally get his first birdie, I think he'll understand why I did it.
[ post comment ]
    New Products
    Caption This
    World Am
    How Bizarre!
Most Popular: