Blayne Barber DQs himself after signing an incorrect scorecard
By mustang6560 on 11/5/12
Despite qualifying for the second stage of Q-School last month, Blayne Barber's hopes of earning a PGA Tour card are over — at least for the present. The former Auburn standout disqualified himself following a possible rules violation.
Barber was unsure if he'd brushed that leaf in the bunker on his 13th hole at Callaway Gardens in Pine Mountain, Ga., so he knew what he had to do: disqualify himself and forsake the opportunity to earn a PGA Tour card. His honesty allowed six other players – Jamie Arnold, Corbin Mills, Jonathan Moore, Chesson Hadley and former European Tour winners Robert-Jan Derksen and Maarteen Lafeber – to advance to Q-School's second stage in his stead.

Barber, a member of last year's U.S. Walker Cup team, immediately penalized himself one stroke for the potential infraction even though his caddie/brother, Shayne Barber, said the leaf hadn't moved. Blayne also informed his playing partners of the penalty.

He was discussing the incident that evening with his former Auburn teammate, Michael Hebert, when Hebert said the penalty for such an infraction was two shots, not one (Rule 13-4c, "Ball in hazard; prohibited actions"). "That's when things went haywire in my mind," Barber said. "My caddie was watching and didn't see the leaf move. I thought maybe I'd psyched myself into thinking I'd (touched the leaf)."
It sucks Blayne won't be able to compete in the second round of Q-School, but at least he feels good about his decision. Hopefully he'll be able to earn his card in the near future.

read more

Read an interesting golf article? Tip Your Editor!


Image via NGA Tour


[ comments ]
SpaceMaNy0 says:
Following the rules is news now. Feature me.
11/5/12
 
Panerai111 says:
Wow, that sucks.
11/6/12
 
Matt McGee says:
If you truly don't know if you touched the leaf, and your caddy says that you didn't touch it, then penalizing yourself is... what? Loss aversion? Self-defeating behavior? Simply unintelligent? I don't want to seem rude, but added to the fact that he then penalized himself the wrong number of strokes, and then second-guessed whether or not he had committed the infraction in the first place, the "unintelligent" choice seems, well... plausible.
11/6/12
 
bkuehn1952 says:
I agree with Matt, talking yourself into a penalty is silly. 99% of the time we do not have super slo-mo high definition replays to make a determination. You go with what you know and what people think they saw or didn't see.
11/6/12
 
C-4 says:
no no mr official..i am positive i struck the leaf...no Blain the leaf did not move..are you sure???..i think i better penalize my self...either this guy is trying to impress someone or he is gonna beat all of us to heaven
11/6/12
 
[ post comment ]
 
    New Products
    Stats
    Caption This
    World Am
    How Bizarre!
Most Popular:

Subscribe