Fan calls Keegan Bradley "cheater"
By mustang6560 on 12/3/12
I warned the USGA Thursday that if its proposed ban on anchored putting didn't go into effect until 2016 that golfers who anchor their putters like Keegan Bradley would become targets of fan abuse.

And unfortunately, I was right.

In the third round of the World Challenge, Keegan said that he was heckled for the first time in his professional career.
Bradley said on Saturday that a spectator called him a "cheater" on the last hole of his round. Bradley said it was the first time he'd ever been heckled, and he said he didn't respond to the fan.

"It's very disrespectful, but it's fine with me," he said. "I've got to try to look at it as motivation to help me try to win this tournament."
The USGA responded to the alleged fan abuse quickly and appropriately.
"This is a deplorable incident, and there is no place in our game for this kind of behavior," the USGA's statement said. "As we noted when announcing proposed Rule 14-1b, it has been and remains entirely within the Rules of Golf for players to anchor the club while making a stroke. There should not be a shred of criticism of such players or any qualification or doubt about their achievements, and we think that it is inappropriate even to suggest anything to the contrary."
The USGA can try and defend anchored putting players all it wants, but the fan abuse is likely to continue until the ban goes into effect. So if the USGA truly wants to protect the players, it needs to implement the ban sooner rather than later.

read more

Read an interesting golf article? Tip your editor!


Image via Flickr, TourProGolfClubs


[ comments ]
bducharm says:
Idiots need to be removed if they decide they want to heckle! Golf tournaments are a LOT different than football games. The fans are closer and the players are not wearing gear to protect them. Keegan handled this very well and should be commended. Too much beer = idiots!!!
12/3/12
 
Wes11point5 says:
A gentleman's game trying to market itself like the NFL or NBA should expect to attract a lot of morons to the crowds.
12/3/12
 
GBogey says:
I believe that Keegan Bradley is so talented he can putt with anything and any style, he just somehow got comfortable with a long putter. Expect him (and Webb Simpton) to keep performing regardless of what the rules may be.
12/3/12
 
birdieXris says:
A cheater is the worst thing you can call a golfer. I was called a cheater once, and i've never played with the guy since then. I was in reality NOT a cheater, and he was ignorant of the rules of golf but it didn't take the sting out anymore. I'm with Wes on this one, if you're gonna market to the masses, you're gonna get some uncouth people in the gallery yelling things like "cheater" , "get in the hole" and "mashed potatoes".
12/3/12
 
guzzlingil says:
wow....ridiculous...
12/3/12
 
k-von says:
@birdieXris - regarding the "mashed potato" comment after Graeme's shot late in his round yesterday, am I mistaken or did he call him a wanker - punctuated with the ASL (I assume) translation of "wanker?" I had a laugh at that.
12/3/12
 
birdieXris says:
@K-von i missed it,i wish i would have seen it though. haha. I could see him doing that. Graeme is my wife's favorite golfer (after me of course) and she probably would have laughed.
12/3/12
 
Dusty23 says:
During the Dubai tournament last week, some guy yelled out "get in the hole" after somebody teed off on a par 4. The Golf channel announcer, one of the European Tour guys said " Oh dear, we don't have one of those idiots do we". Couldn't put it better myself.
12/3/12
 
jpjeffery says:
@birdieXris I really want to know more! What did you do that the other thought meant you were cheating?!
12/3/12
 
birdieXris says:
@Jpjeffery - Well it came up on a hole that was pretty tight. Number 16 at iron valley if anybody has played there. Anyway, i hooked my Tee shot left down a hill and into crap and said "does anybody know what that is down there?" nobody knew. I said i was playing a provisional in case. Same result. Again, played another provisional for that ball and hit that one in the fairway laying 5. Now, we get up into where we all agreed the ball crossed into the crap and there, laying down, is a red stake. Another going up forward. THank goodness for me, because now instead of laying 5 off the tee in the match, i'm hitting 3 from the rough into the green. My opponent/friend said i had to play my 2nd provisional because i hit it and wouldn't have anything else. I refused, citing the rule (can't remember the number but a decision applies as well) and proceeded to take my drop, play 3 and ultimately went on to win by a wide margin anyway. Still, called me a cheat to everyone before i left.
12/3/12
 
mustang6560 says:
@birdieXris- I'm no rules expert, but I thought if you hit into a lateral hazard and re-teed from the tee box, that ball was in play? In the World Am two years ago, I hit into a lateral hazard, told my group I was "hitting a provisional" and fortunately hit it down the middle. I didn't realize it was a marked with a red stake until I got to the edge of the water. The rules official told me because I was virtually certain I hit into the lateral hazard, as soon as I re-teed that ball became my ball in play. Therefore, instead of hitting three from the left side of the fairway, I was hitting four from the fairway.
12/3/12
 
bkuehn1952 says:
I am no Rules expert either. It appears birdieXris played correctly.

27-2a/2.5
Q. A player's tee shot is struck towards an area of trees, bushes and tall grass. Believing his ball might be lost outside a water hazard, the player announces his intention to play a provisional ball and plays a ball from the tee. When he arrives at the area, he finds that the area in question is wetlands that has been defined as a lateral water hazard and that it is known or virtually certain that his ball is in it. What is the ruling?
A. As the player played the second ball from the tee in the belief that his original ball might be lost outside a water hazard, that ball was a provisional ball. The subsequent discovery that the area in question is in fact a lateral water hazard is irrelevant. Therefore, the player must abandon the provisional ball and proceed under Rule 26-1 - see Rule 27-2c.
12/3/12
 
bkuehn1952 says:
That also means that @mustang6560 was screwed by the rules official. Just think, if that ruling had been made correctly, that might have been the spark that won the Championship for you.
12/3/12
 
birdieXris says:
Thanks, bk. I didn't get a chance to look it up yesterday. He still didn't believe me when I showed him. One of the reasons I always carry a rulebook with me. I don't know em by number, but I make sure I know em so I can find them later. :-)
12/4/12
 
mustang6560 says:
@bkuehn1952- I want a refund!
12/4/12
 
Wes11point5 says:
@bkuehn1952 Sadly, the rules official is the ultimate authority. Even if they are wrong, the ruling made at the moment stands. I don't think there is any avenue of protesting it.
12/4/12
 
bkuehn1952 says:
@Wes11point5 - Most of us would never question the official's call but if you were sure he/she is wrong, there is always the option to play 2 balls. Play the way the offical called it and play another ball in the manner you think is correct.

The only time I ever played 2 balls in a tournament involved the status of the club's driveway/entry road. Was a ball over the road OB or still in play. Nothing on the score card indicated OB and there were no stakes or markings. My marker felt it was OB. I played the ball from the other side of the road and also my provisional. After the tournament the pro confirmed over the road was not OB and I saved a stroke.

@mustang6560 - doubt you will get a refund but you might start telling everyone you have had a hole-in-one AND were cheated out of the WAHC championship.
12/4/12
 
[ post comment ]
 
    New Products
    Stats
    Caption This
    World Am
    How Bizarre!
Most Popular:

Subscribe