The Drop Heard 'Round The World
By mustang6560 on 4/15/13
Tiger Woods was assessed a two-stroke penalty for taking an illegal drop during the second round of The Masters. At first, his drop appeared innocent, however, the world number one incriminated himself in his post-round interview.

The story heated up late Friday night and it was a firestorm by Saturday morning. In the fallout, many were calling for Tiger to withdrawal — the two crying foul the loudest were Brandel Chamblee and Nick Faldo.

In the end, Tiger was saved by Rule 33-7. The fact Tiger was not disqualified was very controversial, but did Tiger Woods actually commit a rules infraction or was he the victim of a "false confession"? That's what Bunker Mentality wants to know.

In his post-round interview, Tiger said he played his drop shot two yards behind his original shot, which was the catalyst of the controversy, but if you compare the photos of his original shot with his drop shot, it looks like he played the shot from nearly the same place.

Photo courtesy of Michael Holahan/The Augusta National

As we look back at the 2013 Masters, we'll remember two things — Adam Scott became the first Australian to triumph at The Masters and Tiger's "Drop Heard 'Round The World".

read more

Read an interesting golf article? Tip Your Editor!

Image via The Augusta Chronicle

[ comments ]
GolfSmith7 says:
Golf Channel said Tiger saw the photos and said that they are similar but he clear knows he was further back then the photo shows.
birdieXris says:
In that image he probably dropped about 4-5 feet behind the original spot. Lens compression makes it look like a few inches but i can safely say there's at least a yard or two involved.
legitimatebeef says:
I think the drop was close enough to the original. It's all about what he gave away about his intent in the Rinaldi interview. The drop itself while maybe not literally "as near as possible" to the original spot, is probably as sound a drop as 90% of drops at the pro level. I mean the entire world was watching and no one noticed anything amiss about it. All in all just a terrible break that resulted from a pretty darned good approach shot. Would've been better off if he hit a massive push, airmailed the green, anything but what happened.
tennesseeboy says:
Golf is a strange sport. It is the only sport where what is in your head matters. Spit on the ball to clean it. No problem. Spit on the ball because you think it will make it go further. Rules violation.

The drop location is not the issue. It was his confession of what was in his head that is the issue. Only the player knows what he is thinking and it has always been the players honor to self report. What Tiger say's he was thinking when he dropped is to be believed according to the rules. I assume he confirmed to the officials on Saturday morning what he said in the interview. Rules 33-7 says the committee can waive disqualification in exceptional cases. IT DID. In the discussion of the rule, the USGA says that this should occur if the committee is "satisfied that the competitor could not reasonably have known or discovered the facts resulting in the breach of rules." He apparently forgot a common rule. Is it reasonable to think he might have discovered that he forgot the rule?
Ianinho says:
Anyone who actually completely read rule 33-7 would see that it should not apply in this case. Blatant ratings move.
Banker85 says:
Feherty even said when it happened that he will probably give himself a few yards so he didnt know the rule either. WHo cares moot point now. Tiger wasn't "saved" he played within the rules. In the end he got a bad break. Could have been a perfect shot and birdie and he is alone on the top at -6 with momentum. Could have been major #15 but its not.
Werepuppie says:
It was an incredibly bad break.If the ball misses the flagstick and checks up like the drop shot did,Tiger probably birdies.
This would give him a 4 on the hole instead of the 8 he ended up with.That is a four shot difference.Tiger ended the Masters -5.The lead was -9.Those 4 shots were the difference between Tiger being in the playoff at the end.
C-4 says:
What other sprot makes a ruling then changes it?????
chipotle mg says:
IMO Tiger missed an opportunity to show integrity and respect for the game and other players when he chose not to W/D after the details came to light. It was an incredibly bad break that the ball hit the flag and caromed into the water. Because of the situation, it is understandable that he made a mistake in his location of drop. Bottom line is that he either did not know the rules or purposely bent/broke them and then he signed a wrong scorecard. Given the past history of him cheating on his family, it does not surprise me that he took advantage of the fact that he was not outright disqualified, but it does disappoint me and shows me that he really has not learned a lesson well enough.
chipotle mg says:
I feel like most of the other golfers would have D/Q'd themselves. People like ernie els, brian davis, and especially bobby jones would likely have acted differenlty. Oh well, I guess golf can be played like an NBA game where someone goes to the basket and may or maynot get fouled and then either way cries about it in the most disgusting way possible.. or not. It was refreshing to see the way Angel Cabrera cheered Scott's great shots in the playoffs and his post round interview was very gracious, much the way oosthuizen's post interview was as well last year. Please keep it a gentleman's game.
[ post comment ]
    New Products
    Caption This
    World Am
    How Bizarre!
Most Popular: