The man with
the eagle eye
He Was "Eger" To Help The Rules Officials
By Torleif Sorenson on 5/1/13
We've heard and read about the episodes of TV viewers calling the PGA Tour during their various events with claims of rules violations. But perhaps the most celebrated "penalty call" in recent memory involves the illegal drop by Tiger Woods at 15 during the second round of the Masters Tournament. Now we know who "phoned home" in this case.

As reported by Michael Bamberger, a senior writer for Sports Illustrated, Champions Tour player David Eger had the eagle eye:
"I could see there was a divot -- not a divot, a divot hole -- when he played the shot the second time that was not there the first time," Eger said. "I played it again and again. I could see that the fairway was spotless the first time he played the shot and there was that divot hole, maybe three or four feet in front of where he played after the drop."
Eger is, according to Bamberger, an experienced tournament official and called him "an expert on the rules." Bamberger also says that Eger's telephone also saved Woods from disqualification, citing former USGA president Fred Ridley's incorrect rules interpretation, followed by the invocation of Rule 33-7.

Bamberger's story may not make it to PBS' American Mystery!, but his article is surprisingly detailed and includes the actions and reactions of nearly all of the dramatis personæ. We hope you'll take a moment to read it.

read more

Read an interesting golf article? Tip Your Editor!

Image via Champions Tour

[ comments ]
GolfSmith7 says:
Leave it to "Eger" to do the right thing!
golfingbumunderpar64 says:
I don't think some dude watching a tournament at his house has any place calling something in whether its wrong or right. I'm not a tiger fan but geez. And I know rules are rules. I get that. But the more publicity this guy gets the more " phone from home" viewers are gonna do the same thing for their 15 min of fame. Next thing you know some dude with super HD will notice that a putter microscopy touched the ball on the 72nd hole that no one would ever notice not even the player and that player loses after it gets called in.
falcon50driver says:
gbup64 I agree
jfurr says:
@ gbup64 - (HD TV / microscopic error comment) that's exactly what the 33-7 ruling is for - so that won't happen again. In this case there is issue with the Woods incorrect scorecard - the debate if the committee applied the ruling within proper reason.

Also, the call-in by Eger and all the actions taken outlined in that article were not done to try to get a penalty thrown on Woods exactly, they were done to try to *save* him from a DQ, which set off the detailed flurry of activity to investigate and take care of the issue. If Eger didn't call it out someone else would have. If the infraction were brought up after the round ended Woods would have been under more fire, but it was discussed *before* his round ended which gave to the committee some leverage to choose to take action if it wanted to, which they then used to give an excuse on the incorrect scorecard signing. Did TW get special treatment?

This horse has been beaten to death already.
C-4 says:
if your not an official on the course at that time...shut it...some golfers get more coverage than it is unfair to put the player who get tv coverafge under the microscope, when the others are not. All of the T DUB haters probably love this...we all know whot the most watched golfer in history is!!
[ post comment ]
    New Products
    Caption This
    World Am
    How Bizarre!
Most Popular: