Jeff Overton on DQ: "What a joke!"
By mustang6560 on 5/28/13
Jeff Overton was not a happy camper when he left Fort Worth last Saturday.

The Indiana-native was DQ'd midway through the third round for a rare rules violation — use of an illegal training aid.

There was a significant logjam on the par-5 10th Saturday, so the rules officials informed Jeff's group that they could chip and putt on the nearby putting green while they waited, which is permissible under the Rules of Golf. However, use of an "artificial or instructional" device isn't.

So when Jeff pulled out a putting aid to use while he practiced, the rules officials had no choice but to disqualify him. Jeff took to Twitter to voice his displeasure with the rules officials.











Ultimately, it's Jeff's fault he was DQ'd — it's his responsibility to know and apply the rules. However, I understand what he's saying. It would have been nice of the rules official to remind him that he can putt and chip, but he can't use any training aid to do so.

Oh well — you live and you learn, right?


read more

Read an interesting golf article? Tip Your Editor!


Image via Flickr


[ comments ]
birdieXris says:
More whining from tour pros who don't know the rules and apparently don't carry a rule book. Whatever guys.
5/28/13
 
GBogey says:
Agree - pretty stupid, even I knew this rule and I am far from knowing the rule book. Interestingly, and I've seen tour pros due this, he could club(s) as his alignment aids and it would be permitted.
5/28/13
 
GBogey says:
The real questions should be - why is a PGA tournament on a Saturday with only half the field due to the cut backed up 3 groups?
5/28/13
 
birdieXris says:
@Gbogey - +1 i think i may tweet that.
5/28/13
 
jasonfish11 says:
Assume I did this halfway through my non tournament round. Would that mean I should penalize myself? Or would I just declair the fact that I'm playing 2 9-hole rounds, that just happen to be on the same day and course?

Seems like a stupid rule to me. But he should have known better.
5/28/13
 
birdieXris says:
@jasonfish11 - This is a perfectly fine rule for competition. Remember that the rules of golf are made for competitions - not necessarily for non-tournament rounds. In equity we play our weekly rounds by the rules to prepare for competition wether with other golfers or just with ourselves. I think this is a great rule because, while you can practice something you may be having problems with during the round you're still not allowed to use a training aid to fix it. It protects the field. 2010 Juli Inkster was DQ'd for, during a layoff, using a club weight to loosen up. Same rule. I for one would not want my competitor to have the ability to tinker with stuff during the round using teaching aides.
5/28/13
 
legitimatebeef says:
IIRC it happened to Juli Inkster a while ago for using a weighted donut during a weather delay or something. Perfectly reasonable rule IMO.
5/28/13
 
jasonfish11 says:
I agree they shouldn't be able to use it during a round. Now the question is how do I define a "round" when I'm out practicing but trying to keep a correct score for handicaping purposes? Do I declair that I played 2 9-hole rounds and therefore can use a training aid between the 9th green and 10th teebox, or do I claim all 18 holes are my round?
5/28/13
 
birdieXris says:
@jasonfish11 - A stipulated round is defined as 18 holes played in the correct sequence 1-18, unless a lower number is authorized by the committee. I think in this situation, you're the committee and the only one that can make that decision is you, if you're playing alone. In equity you do have the ability to say you played two 9 hole rounds. I, personally, wouldn't bend the rules that much in my favor just to get a better round for handicap purposes but it's legal.
5/28/13
 
jasonfish11 says:
I wouldn't either as you typically know when you tee off on hole 1 how you are defining the "round" at that time. This is just the thought that crossed my mind when I read the article.
5/28/13
 
mjaber says:
Jeff Overton: From "Boom, Baby" to "Boohoo cry baby"
5/28/13
 
srogers13 says:
beef, Inkster used her donut to keep her back loose when there was a backup of three groups on a par 3.
5/28/13
 
GBogey says:
There was a similar LPGA related incident in the last few years, whether it was Inkster I don't know, but it was definitely following a weather delay, which doesn't make a lot of sense since they allow the players to warm up on the range following a delay.
5/28/13
 
Trip says:
His tweets are a living record that he doesn't know the rules of golf.
5/28/13
 
snuffyword says:
And the joke's on you, Jeff! I have no sympathy. "Make sure" you ask questions about the "small things" if you expect the officials to "remind" you of the small things.
5/28/13
 
Werepuppie says:
It was Inkster.It was also a TV call in violation.
5/28/13
 
Bryan K says:
The PGA is a joke.
5/28/13
 
dukedsp says:
@jasonfish11
It doesn't matter whether you "declare" it as two 9 hole rounds or one. The penalty would be DQ (although this doesn't matter if it is not a competition). DQ penalties still require you to post the round for handicap purposes. If you post 2 9 hole rounds the handicap system will combine them for an 18 hole score. If you post one round it will just post normally, but the result for your handicap is the same. If you don't carry a handicap, it doesn't matter what you do.

@birdiXris
The handicap guide is very specific about how to post scores. 7-12 holes played are valid for a 9 hole score and 13-18 holes played are valid for an 18 hole score. The comittee has nothing to do with it when it comes to posting scores for handicap purposes.
5/29/13
 
Jim_Smallwood_Jr. says:
I am stunned that it is not a rules violation to chip and putt while in the middle of your round.
5/29/13
 
falcon50driver says:
I'm surprised that taking a practice swing or looking at the flag more than once isn't some kind of penalty.
5/29/13
 
snuffyword says:
Jim, not sure if you were being serious but according to USGA Rules:

Rule 7-2 Practice Between Holes

Q. During the stipulated round, is it permissible to practice putting or chipping between the play of two holes?

A. Yes. Between the play of two holes, the player may practice putting or chipping on or near the putting green of the hole last played, any practice putting green or the teeing ground of the next hole to be played in the round, provided such practice is not from a hazard (water hazard or bunker) and does not unduly delay play. (Rule 7-2) However, be careful, sometimes the Committee may prohibit this practice as a Condition of the Competition (Note 2 to Rule 7-2).
5/29/13
 
[ post comment ]
 
    New Products
    Stats
    Caption This
    World Am
    How Bizarre!
Most Popular:

Subscribe