2015 NCAA Women's Team Championship Goes To Match Play
By Torleif Sorenson on 2/13/14

Both the men's and women's 2015 NCAA Division I golf championships will be played at the
very attractive Jack Nicklaus and Tony Jacklin-designed Concession Golf Club in Bradenton, Florida.
The University of South Florida will be the host school.

The NCAA announced yesterday a change to the team championship format for the 2015 Division I Women's Golf Championship. Following 72 holes of medal play to determine the individual champion (Friday to Monday), four quarterfinal and two semi-final matches will be played on Tuesday of that week, with the team championship match to be played the next day. The top eight match-play teams will be determined on Sunday, the third day of individual medal play.

And as we told you 14 months ago, the 2015 men's and women's NCAA championships will be televised by Golf Channel live from the very attractive Concession Golf Club in Bradenton, Florida. The course was co-designed by Jack Nicklaus and Tony Jacklin, the two principals at the end of the 1969 Ryder Cup. Nicklaus famously conceded a two-foot putt to Jacklin, which resulted in the Ryder Cup ending in a tie for the first time ever. It remains one of the most enduring moments of sportsmanship in golf history.

Unlike the 2014 U.S. Open championships at Pinehurst, the women's championship will be held before the men's competition.

read more

Read an interesting golf article? Tip your editor!

Images via NCAA, Facebook

[ comments ]
no comments posted yet.
[ post comment ]
    New Products
    Caption This
    World Am
    How Bizarre!
Most Popular: