22-Year-Old Amateur Self-DQs from U.S. Open
By Torleif Sorenson on 6/3/14

The story of 22-year-old Landon Michelson and his self-disqualification from the U.S. Open obviously reminds of other episodes, such as Blayne Barber at Q-School and Roberto De Vicenzo at the 1968 Masters Tournament.

Oobers, how do you balance pace of pace versus keeping accurate score and not violating the rules?

And what about the scorecard-signing rule Kelly Tilghman mentions in the video?

Read more

Watch an interesting golf video? Tip Your Editor!

[ comments ]
birdieXris says:
I don't think the rule is too harsh. If you sign for a lower score, you DQ if it's higher, then it's the score you get. Personally, i'd like to see the DQ for either offense. Math is part of the game.
slimpks1850 says:
Is this the guy from the insider trading story?
Oh, wait - that's Mickelson.
bkuehn1952 says:
At this point, every golfer who plays in a competition understands the importance of confirming the hole-by-hole scores. You don't even need to add them up, just make sure the score for each hole is right. I always check the hole by hole against the card I keep for myself. It I don't, any error is on me and no one is to blame other than me. Kind of like counting your clubs or reading the Conditions of Competition/Local Rules.
e_c_poirier says:
It's sad that he made a mistake, but surely not one he's going to repeat anytime soon.

On the other hand, keeping score (and stats) can easily be done while the other players are hitting their balls (unless you are expected to help them watch their ball flight). I not only track my score, but putts, penalty strokes, sand shots.

Lastly, I'm not a scratch golfer, so fundamentally, it's harder for me to add up all my "high" numbers, compared to these guys who are consistently shooting par, par, par, birdie, par, par, etc... All they need to do is write down (E) or -1 and then total it up at the end of the day. Shouldn't be that hard.
falcon50driver says:
I learned to count before entering the first grade. I do not feel sorry for an idiot who can't keep up with a hand full of bogies or birdies at that level of play. Especially with the importance of the scorecard. As I'm typing, I'm just getting madder "come on DUDE", as you say, It's not freaking Analytical Calculus.
Trip says:
I think the rule is stupid. With the pressure these guys are under an adding mistake shouldn't have this much of a consequence. Especially when your score is being calculated by other sources. Back in the day, when only you and maybe your playing partners were keeping track, I think the rule makes sense.
sjduffers says:
It's not math and it's not adding the score up. The fault was in not putting down the proper score for one hole: he wrote a 4 instead of a 5: actually his playing partner probably did write the 5 down, as they keep each other's card, but the DQ'd guy didn't catch it when signing the card. He did later though, after it was too late.

It's completely his fault for not writing his score down on his own copy of the card (each official card has room for your partner for whom you are keeping score, and for your own, detachable area), as he went along, and he admits to that in the interview. Kudos to him for how he handled it, and I am sure he won't make that mistake again. Other than that, nothing is wrong with the rule or anything else.
navykip says:
This is just another example of how golf is behind the times and another good example why it is losing golfers hand over fist. What his actual score was more important than what someone else wrote on the score card. Its an old rule and its time for in the evolve like everything else. The rules are the rules and he is suffering the consequences, but it doesn't make it correct.

And for you guys calling him an idiot, I feel sorry for you, your wife, and your kids because of your lack of compassion and understanding.
falcon50driver says:
Some professions require more attention to the numbers than others, "Oopsie, I thought you said descend and maintain four thousand, oh, you wanted five thousand, my bad". See what I mean? My wife and kids do.
douglugg says:
i probably do this on at least one hole, per round ;). cut the guy some slack
[ post comment ]
    New Products
    Caption This
    World Am
    How Bizarre!
Most Popular: