Tringale Explains His DQ Request
By Torleif Sorenson on 8/22/14
He took the DQ — and now his conscience is clear. Bravo, Cam.

On Monday, we told you about the highly unusual request by PGA Tour player Cameron Tringale to be disqualified from the 96th PGA Championship over the mere perception of a rules violation.

In follow-up stories by Doug Ferguson of the Associated Press and ESPN's Bob Harig, both Tringale and his Sunday playing partner, Matt Jones, explained what happened. In fact, Harig reports that it was Jones who actually asked about it before signing their scorecards:
"I asked him what he had on No. 11 because we all saw what happened," Jones said after his round Thursday at Ridgewood. "Did you not make a stroke at that ball? He said there was no intent and once a player says there is no intent to make a stroke, I just left it at that and I signed the scorecard.

"When a player says there is no intent, you have to take his credibility and trust him. And he doesn't have any type of reputation to think otherwise or question him for that."

Jones said he was surprised when he learned Tringale had disqualified himself. "I thought it was over and done with as soon as he signed his card," Jones said.
But obviously, the episode weighed heavily on Tringale's mind afterward — so much that he consulted both USGA and PGA of America rules officials:
"I started to kind of review my week and that came up in my head, is there is a doubt, if my playing competitor was doubting what that looked like. The more I thought about it, I didn't want the way I play this game or my integrity questioned. So I wrestled with it for Tuesday, spoke to some people, rules officials and stuff, just kind of walked through the events on that hole, and then eventually came to the decision that there's enough doubt that I want to take myself out.

"The more I played it out in my head — getting down the road, if I play well, I make it to East Lake
[for the Tour Championship], would I have been there if I did take a 5? So I just felt like it was better to get it out and take myself out than to just be questioning and doubting and wondering for the rest of my life.

"The rules officials I spoke with said, 'Look, no one knows and it's your call. But you have to make a decision either way. It can't be, I'm not sure.' So, I was either out or I'm living with the question, and so I said I'll take a 5 and I'm out."
We also need to consider that Tringale's abundance of caution may also be an outgrowth of the avalanche of second-guessing following Tiger's "near as possible" drop at No. 15 at Augusta National during the third round of The Masters, on Saturday, April 13, 2013. Tringale might also have been thinking about Simon Dyson's DQ at the 2013 BMW Masters last October in China, which resulted in Dyson being fined £30,000 by the European Tour.

Whatever the case, Tringale absolutely did the right thing by reaching out to rules experts and the PGA of America staff in trying to sort out this episode. And now he can proceed with a clear conscience.

Read an interesting golf story? Tip Your Editor!

Image via Facebook, Cameron Tringale

[ comments ]
slimpks1850 says:
I did not intend to read this when I clicked. As I glanced at the article my coworker even piped in, "hey wacha readin'?".

Initially, I didn't think I read it buy only glanced over it. After alot of thought & discussion with reading experts & the like. I'm going to say yeah, I read it.

whehhh, that really takes a load off my conscience. Glad it's behind me now.
bkuehn1952 says:
Had a similar experience as Slim and Cameron. A very attractive woman walked by my wife and me. I did not intend to glance at her but my peripheral vision may have picked up some of the view. When my wife asked me what the heck I was looking at, I told her "nothing." Well, after much thought and sleeping on the couch, it was clear that I had looked at that other woman so I bought my wife that jewelry she had been looking at.
falcon50driver says:
I decided a long time ago not to have a conscience. It takes a lot of the worry out of life.
DougE says:
bk, smart man.
hollywoodtimb says:
I can barely remember my score on a hole, let alone the sequence of events that lead me there. So what does that mean for my years of scores logged in here?!? I am going to discuss with the oobgolf commissioner my disqualification from the internet as a whole.
navykip says:
The only reason he should have DQed himself is, if thinking about it was going to effect his play in the future. Clearly this was the case, so he did the right thing even if none of us would have done the same.
Tim Horan says:
The more he spake (spoke) of his honour...the faster we counted our spoons!
[ post comment ]
    New Products
    Caption This
    World Am
    How Bizarre!
Most Popular: