Nick Watney Penalized Two Strokes
By mustang6560 on 9/7/11
Word of warning, if you're standing in a hazard and you hit a poor shot that makes you mad, wait until you're out of the hazard before you react. Otherwise, you'll end up like Nick Watney, and you'll make an already bad hole worse.

On the par 5 second hole, Nick found himself trying to chip out of the hazard behind the green. After he failed to get his chip out of the hazard, he let his frustration get the best of him and proceeded to slam his club in the ground and in the process he hit a rock. Since the rock was technically in the hazard, he was assessed a two stroke penalty for breaching rule 13-4 (testing conditions in a hazard). With the two stroke penalty, Nick went on to card an 11 on the hole, which dropped him out of contention at the Deutsche Bank Championship and out of the top spot in the FedExCup Standings.

I feel your pain, Nick. I received a two stroke penalty myself last week in the first round of the World Am. No fun!


photo by zzazazz

[ comments ]
Banker85 says:
that is BS. he obviously wasn't testing the conditions of the water hazard.
homermania says:
No BS. I'm sure Watney knows better. Correct me if I'm wrong, but would it not be a penalty if his ball got out of the hazard?
mustang6560 says:
@homer- you are correct. You can't "test" a condition if you're not in it.
Neo says:
Let me fix this for you. "Since the rock was in the hazard,.."
There's no "technically" about it.
jrbizzle says:
Wait - didn't Rory do this a couple years ago and was let off the hook? The only difference I see is Watney hit a rock. Do they really think he was hitting the rock to test the condition of the hazard after he hit out of it? Some of these rules are insane.
DougE says:
Yes, many of The Rules of Golf are absolutely ridiculous. Not because the rule itself is unreasonable, but because it is taken so literally. I really don't feel that many of the rules were originally written to include situations such as above. I would love to see all the rules readdressed by the USGA to determine the true spirit of each rule. Then, when a possible infraction occurs, the penalty is assessed only if it falls into the context of what the rule was designed to do. Basically, penalize us for things we deserve to be penalized for. For example, a lost ball hit straight down the fairway which for whatever reason can not be found when you get to it, yet you clearly saw it stop. The wind blew in the meantime, leaves swirled and now you can't find it. That does not warrant a stroke and distance penalty in my opinion. There are tons of other situations that using common sense should determine what is fair and what is not.
[ post comment ]
    New Products
    Caption This
    World Am
    How Bizarre!
Most Popular: