A Putting "Lesson" from Thorbjorn Oleson
By Torleif Sorenson on 11/8/13


During the second round of the European Tour's Turkish Airlines Open at Montgomerie Maxx Royal, Danish golfer Thorbjørn Oleson accidentally hit a putt. And missed it.

But because he did not actually intend to stroke that putt, rules officials allowed Olesen to replace the ball and hit the putt for real, which he then sank. Rule 18-2 (a)(ii) seems to apply, because Oleson had not taken back the putter head.

The European Tour has video of the incident here.

FWIW, Oleson did manage an R-rated comment about it on his Twitter feed.


Watch an interesting golf video? Tip Your Editor!


[ comments ]
Duke of Hazards says:
For some reason, the way this article reads, it lends the impression that there was no penalty. I looked up that rule (18-2(a)(ii)) and spent 5 minutes trying to match up this video to the rule provisions 'not' to incur a penalty. Olesen did in fact incur a 1-stroke penalty before he was required to reposition the ball for his '3rd' putt.
11/8/13
 
jasonfish11 says:
Duke I read it the same way and couln't figure out why he didn't incur a penalty. Gald it wasn't just me.
11/8/13
 
slimpks1850 says:
So if that goes in - what happens?
11/8/13
 
bkuehn1952 says:
@slimpks1850: you tip your hat, wave to the crowd, take the ball out of the hole and proceed to the next tee like that was exactly what you intended.
11/9/13
 
Agustin says:
The penalty applies and he MUST return it to the previous spot or he incurs an additional 2 stroke penalty for playing the ball from the incorrect spot.
11/10/13
 
Agustin says:
It's the same as hitting the ball on a practice swing while in play (not on the tee).
11/10/13
 
[ post comment ]
 
    New Products
    Stats
    Caption This
    World Am
    How Bizarre!
Most Popular:

Subscribe