Lowlight Reel: Rory McIlroy and Phil Mickelson Edition
By mustang6560 on 1/20/14
Pablo Larrazábal edged former world number one Rory McIlory and five-time major winner Phil Mickelson by one stroke to win the Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship, his first European Tour victory since the 2011 BMW International Open.
His victory, as impressive as it sounds, was served up courtesy of
On Saturday, Rory took an improper drop on the par-5 2nd. From a spectator pathway, he failed to take full relief, which is a two-stroke penalty. Here is the explanation from John Paramor:
"(McIlroy) found what he thought to be his nearest point of relief where the ball was outside and when he dropped the ball within a club’s length, when he actually stood to the ball, his left foot was standing on or just over the line demarking the area of ground under repair," explained head official John Paramor in a statement. "Therefore he has not taken full relief and he is in breach of the Rule 25/1, the penalty for which is two strokes."Neither Rory nor his caddie, J.P. Fitzgerald, noticed the error. Dave Renwick, Ricardo González's caddie, was the one who alerted Rory about the possible rules infraction on the 18th green. Here is Rory's reaction to the penalty, which ultimately cost him his first victory of 2014.
On Sunday, Phil tried an upside-down, right-handed shot from the bushes on the par-4 13th. Not only did he fail to execute the shot properly, the ball clipped the hostel, which led to a double-hit, a penalty, a triple bogey and a runner-up finish. The Sunday triple was reminiscent of the 2012 Masters.
Rory is staying in the Middle East to compete in the Omega Dubai Desert Classic next week, while Phil returns to open his PGA Tour season at the Farmers Insurance Open this week. As both players indicated in their post-round interviews, let's see if they can build upon the positives from last week in their next start instead of the costly penalties.
Read an interesting article? Tip Your Editor
[ comments ]
More Phil magic.
[ post comment ]