Wednesday: Rules
By Kickntrue on 8/27/08 is being represented at the World Amateur Handicap Championships in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, from August 25-29. Due to a scheduling conflict, Kevin and I couldn't go so we found the next best thing. John McDowell operates Rocky Spring Golf Course in Chambersburg, Pennsylvania, and he has agreed to make the trip down to Myrtle Beach on our behalf and log reports of all the going-ons.


After a soggy Monday round at Brick Landing we woke up Tuesday morning to threatening skies. Those skies opened up after our sixth hole and had us standing on the veranda at Myrtle Beach National for three long hours until officials called the round because of lightning in the area. I was excited to play Tuesday morning after learning I was tied for ninth place after Monday's round. With 170 golfers in the flight, I was high on the horse so to speak. Wednesday morning began much the same way as the first two days. Overcast skies and rain. By the time I pulled the rental car into Barefoot-Dye the skies had cleared and the sun was out for the first time in almost three full days.

Once again we checked in and introduced ourselves to one another in each foursome. Today I would play with Fred from Clinton New Jersey and Brandon from Hilton Head South Carolina. We started on a knee knocking par 3 with bunkers surrounding the green which was about 180 yards to the center. Did I mention...all carry!! After getting that hole under our belts everyone seemed to settle down. I don't think anyone can really grasp the lump in your throat, heart pounding, and sick feeling in your stomach that competitive golf involves and how it affects your swing. The one thing I have been surprised about this week is the lack of knowledge about the rules. I am not a rules know-it-all by any stretch of the imagination, but I know you can't tee it up again and again off the tee after hitting a ball into a hazard or OB. I thought these things along with golf etiquette were pretty elementary. Maybe I was wrong, but if I submitted a $550.00 check to play every shot by the rules in the World Amateur, I would know the majority of the rules.

After 18 holes and a few great stories like Fred's father-in-law throwing up on the tuna fishing boat, only to realize he lost his teeth overboard along with his stomach contents, I finished with a 97. Fred finished with a 96 and Brandon carded a 122. The driver stayed covered the whole round again today and the three wood came out of the bag on one tee, a par 5 with 200 yards to carry the waste bunker into a 20 mph wind. The two hybrid came out once again on every tee, other than that five and the par 3's. I'll have to wait until later this evening to find out where I stand overall. Hopefully I'm still within striking distance tomorrow morning when we tee it up at Blackmoor for our final round.

[ comments ]
beisenhauer says:
Actually, you can re-tee a ball after hitting O.B. Check rule 20-5(a).
Duke Dang says:
If your tee shot in the Lateral Hazard, you can't hit provisional ball. If you hit the another ball on the tee box, that ball will come in play now. If the area that mark with O.B stake , yes you could re-tee and call it provisional ball.
[ post comment ]
Most Popular: