Tour Tempo- John Novosel with John Garrity
By Kickntrue on 2/7/08
First- you should know I was not compensated for this review. I was not given he product for free. I bought it on the recommendation of a friend and everything after this is solely my opinion based on the results I've seen. The reason I want to make that clear up front is because I think the ideas presented by Jon Novosel in this book are revolutionary and will change my swing and my golf game forever.

Tour Tempo, Golf's Last Secret Finally Revealed by John Novosel and John Garrity. (Buy Here)

Without going into too much detail- I want to describe and explain the idea of this book and product line. What author and golf inventor John Novosel discovered is that while not every pro golfer swings at the same speed, great golfers seem to have one thing in common, their tempo. Most pro golfers now and in the past have all swung in a tempo in which their backswing takes exactly 3 times as long as their downswing. Novosel actually discovered this while editing golf swings on an old video machine that showed frame by frame times. He was able to see that the 3 to 1 ratio was the common denominator in all great swings. The more consistently you stay to the 3 to 1 ratio the more consistent your swing is and the better you can control your game. I don't want to ruin a big surprise, but do you want to take a wild guess who the most consistent golfer is at keeping an exact 3 to 1 tempo? Naturally, El Tigre.

It is a very common belief that the slower and smooth your backswing is the better off you are. Novesel contends that just isn't true.

Novosel's Tour Tempo product line includes a variety of components including a book with audio cd as well as the option to buy a special audio player and headphone set specifically for Tour Tempo use on the range and before rounds (it is against USGA rules to use any sort of aid during a round in which you are keeping score for handicap purposes). On the recommendation of my friend, I purchased only the book that includes the audio cd for $18 bucks from Amazon.com.

*Ease of Use- 9.0
I really can't imagine a product being too much easier to use. After reading the book the product is as simple as putting a cd in a player or ripping it into an mp3 to put on your audio player. I went to Wal-Mart and bought a $30 mp3 player for the sole purpose of being my "golf listening device." If you already have something, you're good to go.

Using the actual product is very simple. The audio plays 3 tones over and over and over and over (you get the idea). On the first tone you start your backswing. On the second tone you should be at the top of your swing and you set your wrists. The third and final tone lines up with your club striking the ball. While it takes some time to get used to the speed of the swing after around 10 minutes you'll be swinging easily to the beat.

Other than that, there's really no other gimmick or process. The Tour Tempo system is not designed to handle any other part of your swing. There are no positions to learn; no stopping to check you elbow position. In fact, the idea behind the product is that by correcting your tempo you'll actually fix a lot of your other glitches and hitches by default. That is not what this product is about- and I think that's awesome.

*Experience- 9.0
I'm hesitant to throw out perfect 10's right off the bat because I want to leave room for improvement for future reviews, but I really can't imagine something having a bigger effect on my entire golf game so quickly. The best part about Tour Tempo is that there are no gimmicks or tough instructions. The idea is so simple, just follow the beeps.

Getting your tempo right doesn't make you hit all of your range balls squarely. In fact, Novosel thinks you should start without any balls involved, just the beeps and your clubs. The results of your shots can distract you from the important aspects of getting your body into a rhythm. The ultimate goal is that through practice your body will learn the tempo and your muscle memory will take over and the changes will be permanent.

That aside, when I did hit the ball squarely (which became more and more frequent with practice) the results were unlike anything else I've ever experienced on the driving range. The wedges were high with spin and the irons were solid and true. My driver which is usually all over the place was hitting lasers with a slight draw down the range at distances that were consistent and long. The sound of the ball coming off the club was different. the best I can compare it to is how in baseball they say certain players have different sounds when they hit the ball, like they are in another level. I'm not saying I was hitting the ball like Tiger, I'm simply saying I was hitting the ball at a different level than I had been previous to my Tour Tempo sessions.

I really can't think of many "cons" to the system, at least not yet. I've hit about 200 balls on the range while listening to the audio portion and have read the book cover to cover. I have yet to find a real flaw in the logic or performance. I feel like if I could get out on the course tomorrow I would cut 5 stokes off my score instantly.

*Value- 10.0
At $18 I really don't know where you can wrong. You could go to the Tour Tempo website and buy more items to help the system along and spend well over $100 bucks. Even then, if it improved your game as dramatically as I've described it helping mine, wouldn't you pay $100 in a second? I would tend to agree with my recommender (if that's a word) that there is really no reason to buy anything but the book and included cd. Beyond the audio, the cd also includes videos showing the proper way to use the system.

*Overall, 9.5
What can I say that I haven't already? If I haven't convinced you with my passionate spiel above, you won't be convinced. I very much dislike training aids and fixes and it took someone four times of telling me about Tour Tempo before I bought and tried it. If that's what it's going to take for you, scroll to the top and start reading this again. As John Novosel says over and over in the book, this is not a swing aid to be added to improve you game, tempo is a part of the basics of the swing that needs to be in place before you can successfully strike the golf ball on a regular basis. I'm guessing if you are low handicapper your swing is going to already be pretty close to the Tour Tempo while a higher handicapper like myself will find that it instantly makes a huge difference.

I would (and will) recommend Tour Tempo to anyone.

For more infomation and to see the rest of John Novosel's products visit the Tour Tempo Website.



[ comments ]
falcon50driver says:
I really like to see someone recommend a product when I'm pretty sure they are doing so, because they were personally impressed, and not just doing so because they are paid to do so. Last time I was really impressed with a product was "Rain-X". That stuff is great. You put it on your windshield and you can throw away the wipers.
2/7/08
 
Kickntrue says:
Does that mean you'll be buying this M2D?
2/7/08
 
falcon50driver says:
I ordered one, Did you get the commission yet?
2/8/08
 
buffalogolfer says:
I agree with OOB. I'm currently reading Geoff Mangum's book on putting. He discusses the importance of tempo in putting extensively. I like what Novosel wrote. I'm blessed with 80% tempo, and can really tell the 20% of the time that I'm off.
2/11/08
 
Allen_Tee says:
Allen_t
I'm pretty tight .. could I borrow your CD and book until I'm convinced, too?
2/11/08
 
rmumph1 says:
I will check my locat library to see if they have it. If not I'm second to borrow it from Kickntrue
9/24/10
 
rmumph1 says:
I was reading pieces of the book on Amazon and noticed them talking about casting. I believe I cast becuase I hit iron shots 10 yrds apart with the same club. Also a golf pro told me yesterday that I am handsy at the top which make me believe that I lose my power angle on my downswing. My trajectory is high almost balloon like.
Kickntrue- did you notice if you were casting before and now you are not? I am really interested in this book but I too am a tight a$$.
9/24/10
 
TWUES17 says:
Funnily enough I just downloaded a free metronome app for the sole purpose of trying to stay with one tempo...know that I know the 3 to 1 ratio is the key I'm going to be able to put it to use.
9/24/10
 
Kurt the Knife says:
I just ordered one too.
Hey, I'll try anything once.

This has got to be better than that trampoline,llama,flaming-ring swingplane adjuster thing I got from that Nigerian Prince for $35 thousand bux.
9/24/10
 
Banker85 says:
i used the "ernie els" swing tempo in my head when i shot my best round of the year this year. so i am good. the book is a good read. man i wish i knew my swing speed.....
9/24/10
 
windowsurfer says:
I have the book and I dunno . . . a little knowledge. I was having a horrible round because I was overthinking the whole tempo thing and the 3:1 ratio and all. When I finally hit a good drive, one of the guys I was paired with said something about my tempo and I said, "Oh yeah, I just read this book - yadda, yadda, Tiger . . . 3 to 1 ratio, yadda" and it TOTALLY messed him up to the point where he was not even talking to anyone, throwing his clubs and basically ready to murder me for putting that "frickin tempo thought" into his brain. As a result, I kinda loosened up and started playing better (which REALLY pissed him off!)

So yeah, it works, if you can find a victim to give the virus to.
9/24/10
 
Kickntrue says:
@windowsurfer- I'll agree in as much that it can be a major change. Worked on overtime especially with headphones on the range. 30 minutes of 3 - 1 range and then heading on the course for a match for money would not be good.
9/24/10
 
cjgiant says:
I hope I forget this blog before I play next for fear of suffering @windowsurfer's fate. Unfortunately I probably won't and my weak golf mind will focus on it rather than my current swing routine and thoughts. Even though right now I understand you need to practice it, once I hit the course...
9/24/10
 
windowsurfer says:
Like Plimpton's Japanese admirals, I am pretty sure you can't NOT think of it so you must DIVERT. For example, set up, release tension, waggle, BOOM! Bo Derrick, 1981. Or BAM! Megan Fox, in her prime (seventeen minutes from now).

Diversion is generational. Dude.
9/24/10
 
windowsurfer says:
Seriously, tempo is huge and if this book can get you rhythmic, do it. Kickntrue is true -- the course is no place to implement change; that's for the practice range.
9/24/10
 
mmontisano says:
okay, so if you get that cd with videos and the beeps, then what is the point to read the book? i understand reading books is kinda important and all, whatever, but i'm more about efficiency man. if i just follow the beeps, no need for the book.

the one problem i have with this is that it's trying make everyone's tempo the same with those audio beeps. well, not everyone's swing is the same. so this product won't work for everyone, right? unless they have multiple versions of beeps to choose from?
9/25/10
 
cjgiant says:
@badcaddy - I was actually wondering the same thing: if the time between the 2nd beep and 3rd beep is the same for everyone, will that not make everyone have the same swing speed (I guess mathematically taller people would be faster).

I guess maybe it's the rhythm, and the hope is once the ratio is learned, that the body will better adjust to a faster or slower tempo. Maybe?
9/25/10
 
Scott Shields says:
I agree with you Cjgaint, I was thinking that as well. Some people would need a 120 beeps per minute, other maybe more or less ... whatever. But I belive that it would just train you to feel the 3:1 ratio. Then you can speed it up or slow it down, while just maintaining the same ratios. As a former drummer and having taught a little bit...when it came to working with 'dr.beat' (metronome), I would also play a new song very slow ... typically at a 60bpm or even slower, then as I got the rythms correct, I'd speed it up to eventually the time it was meant to be played in. *shrug* ... sounds like it would be something fun to do over the winter layoff here in Michigan.
9/25/10
 
Scott Shields says:
I mean, if it is just a 3 count and then a 1 count. I don't see why anyone couldn't just count to themselves, (1-2-3)backswing, (4)downsing....1 2 3 4. 1 2 3 4. And so on...and perhaps by focusing on counting you're less likely to think, takeaway, club outside of hands, turn shoulder, plant left, clear left side, right eblow in, release power accumlator 4,3, then 2 ... hinge wrists up the plane ... blah blah blah.
9/25/10
 
falcon50driver says:
If there's one thing in golf that you absolutely have to do to play well, It's do what works for you. I firmly believe that a slower backswing is a good thing, but try to tell that to my good friend who used to be a hockey player. He drives like he's hitting a slap shot to the goal on ice. He's extremely long too. 'splain that.
9/25/10
 
mmontisano says:
i've always had a slow back swing. ever since i started playing. i've tried speeding it up, but i always come back to it. with that said though...

i personally like the "Ernie ... Els" tempo. while i may not be as tall as him, his tempo seems pretty sweet to me. Vijay had something similar. he would say "seven" in his back swing, then "teen" for the down swing. if you count it out, "seventeen" and "Ernie Els" are almost identical in relevance to time.

and like merlin2driver said, speediness doesn't lead to inconsistency. look at Ben Hogan. he had a very speedy back swing and transition. yet, he's a 9 time major winner...
9/26/10
 
KVSmith59 says:
hmm.. I bought the thing last year. Tried it for several weeks going to the range and then golfing.....screwed me up totally :) I just couldn't get it to work for me.
9/27/10
 
tcjonny says:
ok, so i am a low handicapper, 4.5 normally. I have been since I was 15 years old, but i haven't improved much since then, not much more than a stroke at best. I just bought this tour tempo book, because I have always felt like my tempo is always the first aspect of my swing to break down during around. I plan on spending 3-4 hours a day with this learning method, melding that with my mechanics, and really working hard at it. I will let everyone know if it does any good.
10/19/10
 
SkyKing5364 says:
So, Kickntrue, 4+ years later ...same opinion? Great aid, or something Roy McAvoy could have turned to in desperation on Tin Cup? Gimmick or value added?
8/11/12
 
[ post comment ]
 
Most Popular:

Subscribe