The GolfRing
By Kickntrue on 4/20/09
Sometimes the key to a good product is simplicity. The GolfRing provides an easy short game training aid worth checking out.

Simply, the GolfRing is a thin wire frame in the shape of a circle you put around a hole at the practice range. They come in multiple sizes including diameters of 6 feet, 9 feet and 12 feet. You can also get a small 18 inch diameter landing ring if you really want to work on your finesse game.

What I like about the GolfRing is that they are very thin and most un-intrusive to a ball coming into the pin. They are also a nice bright white that can be seen from some distance away- the site claims 100 yards. I was not able to test at that distance but I believe it. I also like the ability to make the short game fun by setting up self-challenges or even making a game out of it against your partners. You can put multiple rings around the same hole and turn it into a bulls-eye. I know my biggest frustration with short game practice is the monotony and boringness of practicing chips over and over. This can definitely help that.

The only downside if any is the price for something so simple, but it's not like you could really make a better solution that is as functional without some effort. You can buy the 6 foot diameter ring for $20 on their website (on sale from $30). If you want to get the full set of rings it's a bit more pricy at $80. I figure if you can make a game out of getting better at your short game and it takes a couple strokes off your game that price is well worth it.

I guess if you're really hard up you could get some white yarn or string and try to lay it out around the hole everytime you want to practice.

The other issue you could have is finding a facility where you can use the GolfRing. A course that has a chipping/pitching green is great if you have one close and they don't mind you dropping down your own gear to monopolize a hole. I could see someone using these in their backyard- but you're going to lose a lot of the touch control and it will be more of a landing target. I guess what you should do- is print this article out- tell your clubhouse/course and get them to foot the bill and then have them provide the GolfRings for their patrons.

Overall- a very simple product executed well. Maybe a bit pricey but well worth it if you can knock a couple strokes off your game, right?

TheGolfRing.com


[ comments ]
mjaber says:
If you get yourself a putting green from southwestgreens, and add this to it, you've got everything you need, right in your backyard. :)

Now all I need is a house, with a yard, to put all this stuff in.
4/20/09
 
falcon50driver says:
What happens when your ball tries to roll over the "thin wire frame"? Good luck to the manufacturer of yet another useless gimmic.
4/20/09
 
Godesy says:
I have the house and the yard if you want to put the green in
4/20/09
 
ToddRobb says:
IMHO, I don't like it one bit. The short game is all about execution. I've never felt the need to make chipping more interesting, I enjoy practicing chipping, I find it very relaxing. This product is to help measure distance from the hole, quite frankly, that's information that's not important and not needed. My last thought before a chip is "chip it close", not "within 3 feet".
4/20/09
 
ToddRobb says:
One of the best training aids available is the device you put over the hole to make it smaller, which causes you to practice with a smaller target. When you take it off, the hole seems much bigger than it is.
4/20/09
 
Kickntrue says:
@toddrobb- How much smaller can it get? Ugg.. the idea of making the hole even smaller does not entice me once bit. I'm all for someone saying, "this is a waste of money" or "I can do the same thing on my own" but to think that having a target wouldn't be helpful to the shortgame seems off. I'd rather track how many times in 30 balls I was able to get within 3 feet- than chip 30 balls and be thrilled about the 1 that luckily went in.
4/20/09
 
ToddRobb says:
Kick, I guess it comes down to what level of play the individual is at, you can't tell me that a player on tour would use this device (unless getting paid to do so). Their standards for a successful chip is to put it in the hole, anything less, is less, and doesn't need to be measured. It also goes back to the feel vs. mechanics, and that certainly is to each his own. For me thinking "chip it close", I don't need to know how far it wound up being. Plus I'm more of a mechanic, than a feel player. To answer your question, the hole is only a little larger than the ball.
4/20/09
 
MurphesLaw says:
TRobb, You will find that Jim Mclean, David Leadbetter and Dave Pelz all utilize this short game practice system. I seen it at the Jim Mclean Academy at Doral CC.
The ball is not impeded when it rolls over the carbon fibre ring, TRobb several LPGA members and the big break members practice with it daily I also seen it on the golf channel with the Daily Brew.

TRobb, Look on page 74 or 79 of training a tiger, Earl Woods used this concept to give Tiger that feeling. Since you are the greatest of all time a target is no use to you. David Leadbetter once said, the most under utilized tool today in golf is a target that shows 3 feet.
I have a set, and find that the golf pro's at the local CC use mine.
A pro who made the cut at the local qualifier for the U.S Open uses it daily. He contributes his golfring practice to cracking the local.
Trobb, we'll look for you at the us open.
4/21/09
 
MurphesLaw says:
TRobb, the first time we seen this it was at a college program. I asked about it for my kids. You will not find a top college not using it today.

Trobb, I give credit to where its due not hate because I have the best game. You should listen to Kick. I read your comments and think you wish you didn't need it.
trob, its rated number 1 with the USGTF and now partnering with the pga. But trobb, your game is too good. It kills me when someone doesn't like something its another to bash it because of ignorance. You should talk to Dave Pelz or Leadbetter. Pelz I hear is endorsing it.

Do your homework first trobb and find out the statistics for 3' for pga and avid golfers you may actually choke on your own club.
4/21/09
 
klangdon says:
hmmm, any guesses on where MurphesLaw is employed?
4/21/09
 
MurphesLaw says:
Military my friend
4/21/09
 
MurphesLaw says:
When simplicity is key and it works and you see it around golfers and top pros you have to say hmmm. I checked to see if you could buy a penny stock on it. I just wish I was the inventer. I contacted them seeking to investmy little savings. NOPE but they were very nice about it and happily shared info. Its like the post it notes...I wish I had invented those also.

I'm military my friend and and opportunistic person, not a sad pesimist. Its golf.Golf.Golf. Sometimes when people do something so simple others just have nothing but hate. Headed out to play 9 holes now at the base.

Later all.
4/21/09
 
ToddRobb says:
MurphesLaw, First off, relax. Second off, thanks for the infomercial on this product. Just because I don't like it doesn't mean that I'm bashing it, what did you do invent the thing?? It sure sounds like it. I said IMHO, which means "in my humble opinion" in case you didn't know. Since you took a swing at me by saying I'm the greatest ever, I looked at your scores... there's none there,, what's up?? For the record, when I chip it's basic math, if I land the ball half way to the hole on a flat green using a pitching wedge, the ball usually ends up in tap in range. So that means my target is the landing spot half way to the hole, the big circles that this provides does nothing for me. That being said, you, Dave Pelz, David Leadbetter and any other Dave you can think of can use it all you want, I said I DON'T LIKE IT ONE BIT.
4/21/09
 
ToddRobb says:
MurphesLaw, For you to use Tigers father as an example proves my point, that was obviously when Tiger was a child working on his fundamentals. At this point Tiger has approximately a 50% chance of chipping the ball in the hole. The average amateur is around 6%. And another thing, since you think this thing is the greatest, how many people do you know that have a putting green in their backyard? My yard is 50' by 75', do I put it on the grass without seeing the rollout of the ball? Or should I take it to my driving range and ask if everyone can stop hitting balls while I put my circles around a hole? I don't know about you, I don't get to play at a country club where I can talk the pro into letting me place this thing on the practice facility. Yea, now I'm bashing.
4/21/09
 
ToddRobb says:
MurphesLaw, I just read your post again, you are one of the fortunate ones that has access to a country club. That is who the market should be for this product, maybe you could go to the CC's around your area and give them your infomercial and make a commission. Or did you just join oobgolf to hype up this thing? That would explain why you haven't put in any of your scores.
4/21/09
 
cppwizard says:
Kickntrue stated "@toddrobb- How much smaller can it get? Ugg.. the idea of making the hole even smaller does not entice me once bit."

Sorry, but ToddRobb is exactly right. Next time you go to the practice green before a round, instead of putting at a hole, put a tee in and try to hit it with a 6-8 foot putt. I guarantee it helps! Been doing that for 30 years.
4/21/09
 
falcon50driver says:
It is easy to see you are connected to this piece of silliness by your comments. It is also easy to see that you are uneducated by your use of grammar. "I seen this" and "first time we seen it" and proclaiming to be an opportunistic person , not a pessimist. I think the word you were looking for was Optomist,the opposite of pessimist.. An opportunist is a person who takes advantage of another person's misfortune. HMMM maybe you did use the correct word.
4/21/09
 
Jake Bogardus says:
Lets just all bash each other and fight about nothing! WOOOHOOO
4/21/09
 
kidputter says:
My club pro is beginning to use these rings for juniors and beginners. He believes it gives them goals and visualizations to show progress.
Those of us on here who are more advanced players may not need this, but let's not rule out ANY device that can advance a player's improvement. I have used this a little for shots between 30 and 50 yds. to give me an idea of how much roll I'm getting AFTER initial ground contact. I don't always leave a ball mark to measure from. TODDROBB is one of the more advanced golfers here. We disagree with lots of stuff regarding the game and the players but I RESPECT his knowledge of the game. He doesn't need this device. Some players need the visualization.
And as far as chipping in from more than 20 yards, the odds are FAR LESS than 6%. More like 1 in 1000.
4/22/09
 
ToddRobb says:
kid, thanks for the compliment. I was making reference to chipping, which is just around the green, I considered 20 yards off the green more of a "pitch". You're right though, the statistics drop dramatically once you go beyond a few feet off the green. Like I mentioned to kickntrue, I think we agree this is for someone that is in the early stages of improving their game. At some point better players are trying to focus on a smaller area more than a larger area. A part of a pro caddies job description is walking the course and getting EXACT yardage from different spots on the course, they need to know 147 yards, not "around 150". On the tour three feet either way can mean putting for birdie or trying to save par after the ball rolls of the green. For us, public courses in general are much more forgiving. I just think this product isn't practical for the average golfer and sets you up to accept mediocrity. Just my humble opinion.
4/22/09
 
MurphesLaw says:
Well trobb, assholes and opinions are alike, everyone has one. You just sound as if your a gifted golfer who couldn't make it. From the look of their site the instructors listed who are highly CREDIBLE would highly disagree with your opinion regarding what experts think and shoot for. I also seen this on the golf channel with Brad Brewer who would also disagree with your 3 feet opinion. trobb, I practiced with this and don't believe you can get within 3 feet. I do believe you shoot for the pin but don't believe for one second you get 1/4 of your short chip shots within 3 feet. trobb I'm pretty sure you could not get 10 of 30 within 3 feet from 20 feet off of the green let alone close to the pin as you..

So for people who say this won't help, I'm very sure they can't get it within 3 feet from 20 feet away anyway let alone put a T in the cup..what morons. If this could be done consistantly on any course you would not be here. I know I can't
4/23/09
 
ToddRobb says:
MurphesLaw, Still no scores huh? Thought you "Headed out to play 9 holes now at the base"??? Whatever. It's obvious you either are the genius that invented it, or you're just their marketing bitch paid to try to hype it up on blogs and forums. For you to talk about my game without ever seeing me play shows who the asshole is. BTW, if you knew anything about marketing, you would take your hype show to the country clubs, the average golfer doesn't have anywhere to put your contraption. It figures you didn't think about who would buy the thing before you brought it to market.
4/23/09
 
falcon50driver says:
Quote from murphyslaw's post....."I'm military my friend and and opportunistic person, not a sad pesimist."......His own claim....
Webster's definition:
op-+por-+tun-+ist (+Åp'+Ör-t+ì+ì'n-¡st, -ty+ì+ì'-)
n. One who takes advantage of any opportunity to achieve an end, often with no regard for principles or consequences. An unethical person............Well he may be unethical, but at least he warned you up front.
4/23/09
 
EvilMaggot says:
MurphesLaw , Blah blah blah.

MurphesLaw , Blah blah blah.

MurphesLaw , Blah blah blah, You sound like a broken record. We all know your down on your luck right now with the recent failure of your practice ring gadget, but maybe I can help. What you do is go down to your local dollar store and buy a lot of Hula Hoops, take them down to the driving range and try selling them for half the price that your trying to sell the GolfRing for. I'm sure you'll have better success.
To anyone actually thinking of purchasing this ring should do their self a favor and save yourself some cash and just buy a Hula Hoop. It's all you really need, I dropped a few in my backyard and a few friends and I made a game out of it. It's great chip practice, and if you have a big enough yard, even pitching.
4/25/09
 
Changed out says:
This Product just seems like a bit of a rip off. I understand that it's nice to have a target to visualize when you are practicing, and you want to have something that the ball will roll right over. Has anyone heard of the revolutionary product called yarn?
4/27/09
 
[ post comment ]
 
Most Popular:

Subscribe