Spotless Swing Golf Towel
By Kickntrue on 2/28/11
Everyone has had an experience with a cheap golf towel- and while they generally do get the job done- they aren't something you'd ever recommend or find even remotely memorable. If you do remember- it's for a negative experience, ragged, falling apart and filthy. Spotless Swing is here to change your opinion of what a golf towel should be.

At $24.95 (you can get your hands on one for $19.95), the Spotless Swing golf towel has a lot to live up to. Nicer fabric is one thing- but in the end it's all just there to wipe dirt up, right? That's where the Spotless Swing towel differs from other high end offerings. It's purpose is actually 3-fold- to provide a place to clean your clubs, clean your grooves- and then a "cleaner" area to wipe your face, hands, grips, etc. I think we can all relate to wiping our face with the same towel that has cleaned dirt off our clubs (in my case mostly made wet with spit) for the past 6 months. While on the course I don't bother to mind, but taking a step back- it's pretty revolting.

From Spotless Swing:
Spotless Swing is one of the newest and most practical products in the golf market. A must have for golfers, it is the only golf towel that helps golfers keep themselves, clubs, and club grooves clean.
Spotless Swing is three golf towels in one:
• Outside of the towel cleans your hands, face, gloves and grips
• Inside traps debris from muddy, wet clubs
• MicroBrush™ fabric on the lower inside cleans club grooves effortlessly
Pros
I was pleasantly surprised with my Spotless Swing experience. When I first received it- my initial impression was, "meh," but after taking it out for a couple rounds- I found myself going to it before and after every shot. The microfiber fabric really feels great and you definitely don't mind going to your hands or face with it. The idea of putting the club up inside the club to clean the initial dirt and debris seemed a little goofy at first- but it was amazing how it fell out- without the towel retaining water weight. The MicroBrush fabric really worked well after the initial once-over into the towel to clean out the grooves. While I don't think I'd want the MicroBrush fabric cleaning caked dirt out of my grooves, if you use it after each shot- it does the job admirably.

Cons
I like to use my golf towels (especially while riding a cart) to keep my clubs from clanking around against each other. After putting my club back in my back I take my towels and wrap them through my irons. The Spotless Swing doesn't really handle that task well. It's okay though- because I have about 3 towels hanging off my bag at all times.

Conclusion
The Spotless Swing towel takes about half a round to a round to get used to. It's a different mentality to put your club up inside your towel versus wiping it on the outside fabric (there's got to be a "TWSS" joke in there somewhere). Admittedly, I'm a heavy golf towel user- but I really would recommend this product to someone and my review sample will continue to hang from my bag. At $24.95 ($19.95 on their website) it's not for everyone and wouldn't be my first "luxury" golf upgrade, but if you're already buying $15-$25 on your towels anyway- it's worth the upgrade.

Learn More & Buy At www.spotlessswing.com

Also available at Golf Galaxy, Edwin Watts, TGW, and Amazon.com.


[ comments ]
Kickntrue says:
I didn't put this in the review- but it is nuts to me how some golfers (mostly beginners or bad players) don't clean their clubs after every shot. I've seen amateurs with months worth of dirt baked into their grooves and they wonder why the shots they actually hit good end up with "bad breaks." Give yourself the best chance possible and clean your clubs after each shot! It only takes about 3 seconds to do it right after the shot- versus getting out a bucket and a series of brushes after the fact.
2/28/11
 
mjaber says:
I have 3 towels. 2 on my bag for the clubs, and one old hand towel that I used for my hands/grips/face...
2/28/11
 
birdieXris says:
I concur w/ Andrew. This looks like a nice offering and at $20 it seems very nice. I'm curious as to the "micro brush fabric" life expectancy. Did it seem like it held up nicely? have you washed it yet?
2/28/11
 
Kickntrue says:
birdieXris- have not washed it yet- but it seems liked it'd hold up pretty well. The best way for me to describe the "microbrush" fabric is ... like cheap (short) artificial turf you can buy at Home Depot or like a non-abrasive steel wool. Not sure those are right... haha. there are better pictures on the website if you click through- I think you can get a decent idea of what it is. it's a "fabric" you've experienced before- just not sure what to call it or where you've seen it.
2/28/11
 
bkuehn1952 says:
"I think we can all relate to wiping our face with the same towel that has cleaned dirt off our clubs (in my case mostly made wet with spit) for the past 6 months. While on the course I don't bother to mind, but taking a step back- it's pretty revolting."

Guilty. ;)
2/28/11
 
Kurt the Knife says:
I got one of them Frogger amphibian towel thingys to replace the old Kmart terry that disintegrated.
Haven't had the chance to try out its "dual wet and dry waterproofy membraney" features yet cuz i gotta ripping epicondylitis (golfer's elbow)that i tried to play thru last month.
Payin the price for that ignoramus move.
Dang, and it stopped raining last weekend.
2/28/11
 
lcgolfer64 says:
After getting a few branded - Callaway, Nike, etc. towels for gifts, I hate to say it but they're mostly ornamental.
My tried-and-true towels are old cotton bath towels. I have a group that I circulate from bag to wash and back again. While the micro-fiber type seem to look nice on the bag, for me they don't do what I want them to do: Clean the dirt/sand off and dry my irons after a shot.
I carry 2 usually. Both are half wet and dry. one for the clubs and the other is for me or my grips clean to dry.
2/28/11
 
birdieXris says:
@KTK --- ahhh the ol' value terry. Everybody's got one of them, i think. Mine's see thru. :) haha.
2/28/11
 
Spotless Swing says:
From Scott, the inventor of Spotless Swing:
I wanted to answer a question from a previous post about the longevity of the MicroBrush™ fabric. Some of our original prototype samples from about two years ago are still going strong without signs of breaking down. We use top quality materials in our product, from heavyweight microfiber fabric to steel carabineer clips. Spotless Swing is made to last.
Also, you do not need to wet Spotless Swing. It works just fine without water.

Exclusive for oobgolf readers, if you use the coupon code “oobgolf” while checking out, you will save 15% off your order. This coupon is valid until March 3, 2011.
2/28/11
 
bashworth says:
i always use the cleanest water on the course, water hazards :)
2/28/11
 
Kurt the Knife says:
@birdie
"Mine's see thru. :) "

oooo sexy.
2/28/11
 
GreggScott says:
Oh Boy.... a towel with a hidden compartment .... perfect for hiding a small tube of Vaseline. STRAIGHT DRIVES!! PRESS your BETS! :-)
2/28/11
 
Kurt the Knife says:
dude... clarify.
I dont use vaseline other than very specific circumstances... and it ain't on the links.
what r u thinkin?
3/1/11
 
GreggScott says:
Read Rick Reilly's book "who's your caddy" There is a chapter where he caddies for a high stakes vegas gambler. They grease the face of their clubs to reduce friction so the ball wont spin and go straight. I guess their rules are there are no rules. They say it works. That towel made me think that a hustler could use it to his advantage. :-)
3/1/11
 
bobhooe says:
i would hate to ruin such a nice towel with all the goose turds i have to clean off my clubs and ball on 6 of the 18 holes at my home course.
3/1/11
 
BAKE_DAWG40 says:
I'm sold. Just ordered two. I hate the brush hanging from my bag. The bristles tear up the fabric on my bag. That drive anybody else nuts??
3/1/11
 
Kickntrue says:
@KtK- I was with you on the vaseline comment as well- though i figured it out rather quickly. assuming it works- the towel would be a good applicator.
3/1/11
 
Kurt the Knife says:
Thanks for 'splainin' the vaseline gig.
I'm gonna try that one. sounds like fun
3/1/11
 
[ post comment ]
 
Most Popular:

Subscribe